Just added a Wireless router (help w/ settings)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Birdman, May 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birdman

Birdman Registered Member

I just added a Netgear WNR3500 Wireless Router to my network and I have a few questions.

1) My pc is connected to the router via an ethernet cable (not wireless) and previously I have disabled XP services that were required for *wireless" connections. Do I have to enable any of them now that a router is used or it doesn't matter because it's connected through a cable and not wireless?

2) What is the best way to SECURE my connection? What SETTINGS changes should I make (ie wireless settings, LAN settings, basic settings, etc).

3) Currently UPnP is turned 'On' through my router login settings. Leave on or turn OFF?

I've NEVER used a router before so any help/advice/tweaks/recommendations are very appreciated.

Thanks.

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

3. FiOS Dan

FiOS Dan Registered Member

I have UPnP disabled for a few weeks with no ill effects so far.

4. lodore

lodore Registered Member

If your going to use wireless enablewpa2 (wpa if you cant use wpa 2) encyption with a strong passphase.

5. FiOS Dan

FiOS Dan Registered Member

Try out this password generator.

6. Birdman

Birdman Registered Member

Thanks for the guys guys.

A couple of questions:

1) The MTU value when connected to the router shows up as 1452 (even though I had it set to 1492). When I go to my router settings page, the value is set @ 1492 (yet analyzer tests still read it @ 1452).

When I connect directly through my DSL modem...it's 1492.

I've used TCPOptimizer, but still no go.

2) I can not access my modems connection page (192.168.0.1) since hooking up the router. Is this normal since the router took over internet connection from my modem?

7. Victek

Victek Registered Member