June MS Security Net Framework 3.0 problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by robinb, Jun 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    Microsoft issued 2 netframework 3.0 updates yesterday.
    among all the other updates.
    I put them on 6 computers running Windows 7 Sp1 and on 4 -cpu was over 65% and I had to reboot 2x to get it to go down- On one Windows 7 pro on one, it hung up in a loop and never completely installed. I had to go into safe mode where Windows automatically removed them (thank goodness) then i rebooted and all was well but when going into windows update it said it failed. I yet to try it again and find the same problem.

    On the other machines cpu usage went up to around 65%. I sat and waited to see if it would go down which it did not. So I rebooted the machines ( i did each one separately) and finally cpu usage went down to 1%. Four of these machines were windows 7 home premium, 2 were windows 7 pro.

    I put them on 2 xp pro sp3 machines with no problems and no spikes at all.

    This did not happen with the 2 netframework 4.0 security updates.

    Anyone else seeing this?
    robin
     
  2. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I had that happen one time. I did some research and discovered the cause was the order in which you install the dot net Framework. There is a specific order it has to be installed in otherwise it can cause the problems you described when doing updates. That could be what is causing your problems.
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    That's why I have a disk image ready.
     
  4. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    These links might help.

    -http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923100-

    -http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/archive/2006/05/30/611355.aspx-
     
  5. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    How do you know which order to do these two since it doesn't say anything on windows updates which one to do first. You cannot go "enny minny moe"
    you know.
    robin
     
  6. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I tried to find the site I got that from but could not. At any rate I had saved part of it so this is the install order which is sort of opposite from what you would think.

    .NET Framework 3.5 SP1

    .NET Framework 1.1

    .NET Framework 1.1 SP1

    If I happen to find where I got that from I'll post it.
     
  7. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Luckily, I managed to update them without a problem.
    Every time, MS releases major Updates,...time for Trouble...:blink: :gack:
    I'm afraid MS Updates more than Malware itself...:D
     
  8. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Yesterday, in MS updates, I received the two mentioned Net Framework updates. I re-imaged my laptop this morning, to a few days previous, and low and behold...no Net Framework updates this time around. It appears they've removed them for some reason. This was no more than an hour ago when I did this update.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  9. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ

    I posted yesterday to microsoft Windows 7 updates site about this problem. I am wondering if they heard me or if more people complained with the same issue. I noticed today when i went on 2 of my clients computers to do these updates (crossing my fingers) they were not there and they both run windows 7 Pro sp1.

    hmmm

    robin
     
  10. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    The high CPU after .net updates is normal. After reboot, .net will do it's thing for quite some time and then finish until the next update. I did notice on the June updates that it ran longer than the ones in the past. If you are in doubt as to whether it completed the process, you can force it to run from the command prompt. Admin prompt for Win 7. The command line is
    Code:
    ngen.exe executequeueditems
    This info was taken from here
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/davidnotario/archive/2005/04/27/412838.aspx

    In command prompt, you may have to navigate to the location of ngen.exe before it will launch. In the past, I've run it from framework 2.0 but notice this time that it was run from framework 4.0
     
  11. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i applied the .NET patches one by one and rebooted between each ones to make sure it went fine.

    i got the updates yesterday after coming back from a trip for a few days.

    Hitman Pro did not like the updates one bit though.
    it scanned a whole bunch of files belonging to NativeImages and Ingiatrics, if i remember correctly.

    and my firewall alerted me that a Setup file was trying to connect out, which i denied anyway.
    first time i see a Microsoft updates do that on Win 7...
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Everything went off without a hitch here.
     
  13. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It is normal behavior as with each update .Net Framework updates its binaries and other data and will settle to minimum CPU usage within few minutes. You can prevent this behavior (although should not be a problem for fast computers) by disabling Microsoft .NET Framework NGEN (both v2 and 4) from services.msc.
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    same here, the CPU settled down after a few minutes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.