Jetico Personal FW now for free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ichito, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    "HELSINKI, Finland – April 13, 2016 – Jetico, developer of world-class data protection software, announced today that its Jetico Personal Firewall, previously retailing at a premium rate, will now be available as a free download for users with Windows 8 or earlier. Jetico stated that the strategic maneuver will help the company devote more time and resources to its increasingly popular data wiping and encryption software.
    (...)
    “Converting Jetico Personal Firewall to a free download is an important strategic step,” said Jetico CEO, Michael Waksman. “Not only are we able to better serve our customers in the long run, but we’re better positioned to maintain our status as the industry’s premier experts focused purely on data protection.” He continued, “I want to thank our firewall users for entrusting Jetico with their network protection for over ten years. Without your input and loyalty, we wouldn’t be where we are today.”

    Full announcement here
    www.jetico.com/about-jetico/newsroom/734-jetico-personal-firewall-now-free-focusing-r-d-on-wiping-and-encryption-software
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,052
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Very interesting, perhaps I will check it out. If I'm correct; it is one of the more advanced firewalls on the market. It also has a HIPS, but I'm not sure how advanced it is.
     
  3. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,461
    Hah, and I was just setting up a Win7 VM for pentesting. I'll give it a spin. :)
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Jetico was great when I used it back years ago when it first was being developed and introduced to the public. I enjoyed using it very much. Sounds like a great deal for anyone needing a software firewall now.
     
  5. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    54
    I'm testing on Windows 8.1 and does not integrate the security center. Someone knows a solution?
    Greetings.
     
  6. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Well this is rather interesting. I remember Jetico from back in the old days. Back in the days of Sygate and others.
     
  7. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,461
    Tried messing around with it a bit, found the GUI rather convoluted. Also I can't get my Win7 VMs to update properly at the moment. Some other time, perhaps.
     
  8. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Will it work on Win 10?
     
  9. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi sg09, it does work, I mean it installed just fine at least on my Windows 10 64-bit installation. Just got lazy setting up rules for each software running on my machine. I wasn't able to test thoroughly, but it did stop my apps from connecting to the Internet.
     
  10. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    310
    Location:
    Finland
    and windowsdeal dot com is having this as their "giveaway" today... LOL ...
    but that's how i found out it's actually now free for good.. :)
     
  11. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    LOL @ your post and it's value.
    We of course are quite interested about a firewall that has not been much heard since XP times. I myself did not try it then. It was told being quite difficult, but second hand storys are not always so trusted.
     
  12. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I'm glad there is another free Xp compatible firewall. I tried to find a newer replacement for Sygate but none I tried really worked for me and I ended up going back to Sygate which is still quite effective in Xp.
     
  13. Boblvf

    Boblvf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Posts:
    103
    Does not work in Windows 10, but works well in Windows 8, firewall for specialists...
     
  14. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    It's an excellent firewall, now even better that it's free. It's essential that one reads through the pdf Help file in understanding how it processes events, and how it's possible to create "Groups" of applications and IP addresses, as well as utilizing wildcards and network masks to make things far more streamlined than they otherwise would be without knowing about these options.
     
  15. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Off-topic:
    There used to be a forum for Jetico at Smokey's site:
    http://www.smokey-services.eu/forums/index.php?&board=51.0
    Does that forum still exist, and if so, what is the link nowadays?
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Jan, is this the one you're looking for?

    http://www.smokey-services.eu/forums/index.php/board,51.0.html
     
  17. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Aha, thank you JR! That's the one.

    PS:
    Last night I couldn't go there using the link I gave. Then I tried it with https instead of http (perhaps not a good idea from me). I got a warning from my AV NOD32 about the certificate:

    W_Smokey_2016-04-18_15-11-02.gif
     
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Jan, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,052
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can you give a bit more info about the HIPS?
     
  20. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    In the last Matousec test: http://www.matousec.com/projects/proactive-security-challenge-64/results.php , it scored lower than Eset Smart Security i.e. 58% versus 67% at default settings. So you're going to have to do a lot of "tweaking" with the HIPS to get it up to acceptable levels.

    Read the .pdf file noted previously for details and features. The .pdf states it does have memory injection blocking capabilities. How good those are you would have to confirm with independent testing.
     
  21. kakaka

    kakaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Still have the hash bug.
    ===========================
    Application checksum.

    Application: System with SHA1 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000.

    Do you want to authorize it?

    Sometime could be FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF.
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    As itman mentions, the pdf help file (link in my post #14) will explain things, certainly better than I can. See pg 24 & 58-59, especially. I suspect the low scores in Matousec testing are, indeed, a result of inadequately configured Process Attack filtering.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,052
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I forgot about Matousec, but these leaktests don't always tell everything.

    I read the helpfile, but I was hoping you could give some insider information. But from what I understood, you're not really into HIPS.
     
  24. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Years ago I was, but not any more. I did use a few of the Process Attack filters in Jetico for monitoring user space directories mainly out of interest sake. Although I'm not into HIPS, I am a proponent and user of application whitelisting (AppLocker) of executables, including dll's. My main line of defense is focused primarily on the web browser.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,052
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see. To be honest, I'm a bit tempted to install Jetico but my system is running rock solid with my current security tools, and I'm afraid to mess things up. That's why I also chose not to install HMPA. I don't believe the HIPS part of JPFW is more advanced than SpyShelter's and the Windows Firewall works just fine.
     
Loading...