Jetico or LNS?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by vbnmu, Dec 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    which one would u rather use? (include pros n cons if possible)
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    id use looknstop just because it easier to use. in addition, LnS coupled with Phant0m's ruleset gives excellent protection.

    as for leaktests or termination, i dont rele care for them. i can use a HIPS if necessary.
     
  3. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    forgot to include Sygate!!

    BTW WSFUser, where do u get phantoms rulesets from?
    The reason i raised this thread is because am finding it painstaking to configure rules for some items-1 being signals from my router.(with LNS)
    Jetico seems easier to work with-but too many popups!!!!

    www.firewallleaktester.com - ranks Jetico higher than LNS. But what about Sygate?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    v6 of the ruleset is free, u can download it from here.
    v7 is not free but it includes an installer so its easier to use.

    for the router signals, have u read this thread?

    *************************

    i remember sygate didnt fare so well, lower than looknstop and lower than zonealarm too (i think).

    sygate, of course tho, is easy to use as its an application-based firewalls and you dont need to mess with rules.
     
  5. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35

    ooops...thats interesting!
    gotta get rid of it ASAP then!
    thx for yr help WSFuser!
     
  6. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    BTW, i did read this thread. but my signals are kind of diferent. and tho i tried to adapt the guidelines to my signals, they didn't exactly work.
    I want to get the rules right so as to get optimal performance from my existing software/hardware.
    I will b tryin LNS n Jetico again. And this time i will post for help should i need it.
     
  7. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    btw how easy is it to use ProxyFirewall? does it slow down your connection? would it require configuring certain software-P2P etc?
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Well jetico is more secure but has a boat load of pop ups which annoyed the heck out of me.
    Look'n'Stop is a lot simpler yet is still quite secure. Its also very light and stable.

    I prefer the simplicity and lightness of LnS.
     
  9. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    I havn't yet reinstalled LnS as am formating my laptop-would disabling network filtering resolve the problem of 'signals' from n to my router?
    how much more secure is Jetico, on a scale of 1-10? n LnS?
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    proxyfirewall doesnt provide inbound protection (at least i dont think it does).

    what it does is let u allow or block applications from connecting out, and it lets u force programs to connect through a proxy (specified by you).
    of course, but then u would only be using looknstop to control applications from connecting out.
     
  11. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Jetico. Extremely light (7.5mb) on my system, and very thorough. Passes most leak tests. It is a pain in the ass to configure but I believe it is worth it. However, if a user is not familiar with processes and what they do,then they should maybe look elsewhere. If you try it, just run through all your usual programs and set the rules for them. After that, Jetico is rather quiet.
     
  12. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.......
    WSFuser am going madddddd now!
    Thx for the Phant0m stuff. i suppose its MEANT TO HELP!
    I thought its probably better than my own setting so i tried.
    now my home network is all messed up. i can't c my other computer no more!
    i tried importing seperate rules for the home network etc...NOTHING!
    maybe i should post this in the LnS section but i thought u might av a clue!
    i could well drop it for Outpost. which proved much easier.
    but if it better then its worth going the extra mile inspite of the hassle. thats wat i believe!
     
  13. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i dont rele know about networking, so posting inthe LnS forum would be a good step if u want to use LnS.

    i find outpost to be a good firewall and if its easier for you to setup than by all means go ahead.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  14. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Well on a scale of 1-10 i'd say the latest release of jetico would be about an 8, LnS would be around a 6 imo.

    I wouldn't disable the network filter as its a critical part of lns's security.
     
  15. shaunwang

    shaunwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    94
    Yeah I agree with benny bronx , jetico from the beginning it was kinda annoying, with stem help I manage to set it up properly , now I can do it myself already, ask for help in jetico related topics and learn , I bet that the jetico topic is sufficient to setup your rules properly, or else there is always Stem <--- helpful moderator to explain and answer to your doubts.

    Jetico rocks , I tested LNS before but due to rules limitation I tried Jetico and love it very much Free and very light and strong.
     
  16. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    thx LnS n everyone else!
    I have gone back to my own settings and luckily its now working!!! :)
    bt seeing how u guys rated Jetico, am not too sure i want to stick with LnS!
    uhmmmm...
    is Jetico lighter on resources?
     
  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i think theyre similar similar with resources, both are light.
     
  18. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    I got Jetico on my other PC now. with LnS on my main one.
    It took looooooong to sort out connection between the two. n there's 2 more pc on my network.
    plus it was being funny with AVG Free!
    but feeling well chuffed after sorting what i have so far!
    shud it carry on like that i might well swap to Jetico!

    Could somebody convince me that Jetico is actualy worth the effort, plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
     
  19. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I've been using Jetico Firewall for a long time, I think it is well worth it.
    I have Jetico 2 installed here, it does take a little time to setup up.
    There are alot of popups at first but will stop once configured.
    Jetico 2 starts as a windows service and version 1 does not.
    Jetico 1 is freeware, and Jetico 2 I think will be shareware when its Final.
    There are quiet a few threads here to configure Jetico version 1 or 2.
    The below thread will help setup your web browser. There are alot others more recent.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=145740

    Leaktest Results:

    http://www.matousec.com/projects/windows-personal-firewall-analysis/leak-tests-results.php

    Hope this helps
    Rick
     
  20. vbnmu

    vbnmu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    35
    thx for your reply.
    i was hoping that Jetico 2 would be easier to setup.
    r u trying to say that its not really the case?
     
  21. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I think its a little easier, but mostly about the same.
    It will take longer when first setting up, and you may to reboot several times.
    I've been using version 2 since the beta started.
    Once configured you can save a backup of the config. file.
    Jetico 2 does not use the same config. file format as Jetico 1.
    Its an .xml file for Jetico 2.

    Memory useage for Jetico 2. 17000k

    Best way to see if you like it is to install and try it out.
    If you don't like it there are only 3 registry entries left over when you uninstall.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.