IVPN questions.

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Roberteyewhy, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158

    I understand some of their reasoning. My application is to "service" family members that don't have a clue about linux. If VPN servers go down they wouldn't have a clue how move to another country or whatever. I can talk them through the client if need be. I guess they'll stick with AirVpn for now. I have cut my "service time" to almost zero having talked them into the abandon of Windows and onto linux. I wrote auto scripts to update linux and keep things tight with firewalls, only allowing tunnel traffic on their machines. Never Windows, is their new motto. LOL!
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
    I get that. But did you know that one can use AirVPN's Eddie with other VPN services?
     
  3. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Totally aware.
     
  4. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    I'm trying several VPN's.
    Here is an interesting thing. When I'm using a/any VPN and go to Yahoo's front page, they show me the weather not of my assigned by VPN ip location, but the location provided by db-ip.com
     
  5. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
    I'm confused. That website shows my VPN exit location. What's different about the locations provided by your VPN app and db-ip.com?
     
  6. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    Clear your browser history and cache\cookies.

    Afterwards, try auto starting the VPN client at system reboot and don't let the browser connect to the net before connecting to the VPN server. In other words, don't connect to the VPN on-demand after you have allowed the browser to connect to the ordinary net.
     
  7. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Years ago I remember several of us in here did an in depth test of VPN services, testing many of them based on various criteria. iVPN & Mullvad came up as the undisputed winners, with some touting Boleh as well. And I don't see any reason that that's changed all this time later.

    I prefer iVPN for the multi-hop. Your ISP can see the IP address of the first hop you connect to, that's something to be conscious of. But not the 2'nd hop. I feel that's important. So it's a good idea to always choose the same location for the first hop. Personally I choose Netherlands then usually Sweden as the 2'nd hop. Countries I trust to protect my privacy and a VPN I also trust. The price is absolutely worth that peace of mind to me.

    I recommend using DNS Leak Fix as well, an app actually created by one of the iVPN devs. Or simply use the command line instead and enter: ipconfig /flushdns

    Use this before connecting to the first hop, after connecting to the first hop, and after connecting to the second hop as well if you're not using DNS Leak Fix. Or for peace of mind use both.
     
  8. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    I don't know what the deal is with the Mullvad client lately. Some people have no issues with it while others have nothing but problems. On the other hand IVPN's client has always been rock-solid except for a few minor bugs (graphics related).
     
  9. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Since I still use XP Pro I'd have to use an old Mullvad client... v51 was the last one to work on XP. I had great experiences with it in the past, and if not for what I know about the importance of multi-hop to maintain anonymity I would have gone with it.

    I also have heard about people having problems with it lately though. This is the first time I've visited this forum in maybe 2 years now, and it seems to be wide-spread and not just limited to the few accounts I heard.

    I pay for iVPN with Cash By Mail, and it's absolutely worth the $95/year I pay. I pay for it and I pay for Startmail as an email account. They're the only 2 things I spend money on as of now, since I have lifetime keys for Sandboxie, Shadow Defender, & MBAE.
     
  10. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
    Hey :)
     
  11. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    Please check your IP with iplocation.net.
    There are several links showing your IP - IP2location, ipinfo.io, DB-IP, etc...
    Click on DB-IP and click, next, "search" in the right upper corner with your IP address.
    It will open a web-page with your IP address and geolocation.
    Here is what I mean.
    While using one VPN from an European country with an American(!) IP address, I'm greeted by Yahoo with information about the temperature in that European country.
    While using an Asian-based VPN and a Texas IP address, I'm greeted by Yahoo with information about the temperature in Atlanta, Georgia, and so on...
    At first, I could not understand why, but after checking that DB-IP web-site, I was able to figure out that Yahoo phenomenon.


    I'm probably the most "cleaning-obsessed" computer user - Ccleaner, WiseCleaner, Kerrish Doctor, Privazer, etc...
    after my Sandboxie is wiped by Eraser.
     
  12. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
    OK, I'm using an IVPN exit in Germany. DB-IP shows Frankfurt. Yahoo shows me weather for Frankfurt, in German, So o_O
     
  13. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Hey yourself... long time. I remember you being instrumental in that effort to weed out the contenders from the pretenders in that VPN testing I mentioned. On top of that I learned a lot from you about how to effectively set up VPN's.
     
  14. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    Just saying...
    It was strange at first when I was using an American IP address with no dns leaks, and WebRTC disabled, etc..., Yahoo was showing me the temperature in that European country.
    What's more, when I logged in into my Yahoo email, I got a warning message, "Is it you who logged in from that European country".
    The same thing happened with my gmail, and other email accounts, but my IP was clearly from the USA.
    (It's not about how "unhealthy" is to use those anti-private emails.)

    What's more, while using a different VPN and a Texas IP address, Yahoo showed me the temperature in Atlanta.
    Next, I switched that Texas IP address to a Chicago IP address, but Yahoo still showed me the temperature in Atlanta, because DB-IP was showing an Atlanta-based IP address.
    I don't know how much it could affect anybody's privacy, etc..., I just know that Yahoo is using some DB-IP kind of service to learn more about you.

    P.S. And know a comic relief.
    My previous comment was posted while using a Sandboxed browser of my computer 1. Then, I terminated Sandboxie, erased it with Eraser, ran Ccleaner with CCenhancer and WiseCleaner, and Kerish Doctor, and Black Bird Cleaner, etc..., and did shut down that computer 1.
    Next.
    I turned on my computer 2 and went to wilderssecurity, and I was kind of shocked to see that I was still logged in(o_O) - I was online at wildersecurity.
    But I was not(!) logged in.
    WS.PNG
     
  15. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
    @zmechys - Well, some VPNs lie about server locations.
     
  16. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    Did you try your test running the browser un-sandboxed ?
     
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    Could you please try to use an American based ip with your European vpn and then check it with DB?
     
  18. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    607
    Location:
    usa
    It changes nothing with or without sandboxie.
     
  19. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    fwiw try ivpn exit Dallas, then go to iplocation.net. finally I can trilocate among TX, UT, CA, but where exactly is that damn server, only the Shadow knows... o_O
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,998
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Did you close your browser without logging out of the forums?
     
  21. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    You can ask @mirimir or @luciddream why, but exit node IP address location does not always return reliable results when using obsolete geolocation (GPS databases that do not have up-to-date\accurate infos).

    I use a server's domain name to track a server.

    The server is in Dallas, TX. All methods are showing it in Dallas, TX and here is the iplocation.net results:

    Cap2.PNG

    Cap3.PNG
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  22. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    8,881
  23. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    I think this is what @mirimir is saying in an indirect way. Well, I will restate it with my own words.

    IVPN works as advertised. Figuring out the little quirks is all well and good for the sake of learning, but the IVPN service and client themselves work. People are chasing ghosts.
     
  24. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    584
    Location:
    Far East
    Don't iVPN comes with DNS Leak Protection/Firewall/Kill Switch and also they owning the DNS servers? Still need a DNS Leak Fix by their developer?

    BTW, do their DNS servers support DNSCrypt + DNSSEC?
     
  25. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    Yes to all of the above.

    As for the other questions regarding the Leak fix, DNSCrypt, etc just ask their support. They reply within a day or so.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.