I've lost Windows - how can I get it back?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Old Monk, Sep 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi

    Recently managed ( with much help) to create a dual boot set up with XP and PCLinux

    Just reinstalled System Safety Monitor in XP and was prompted to reboot

    Now I cant get into Windows at all !!

    GRUB loads and gives me the options of what to load but when I choose Windows it appears to start to load and I get past F12 screen but then quick flash of blue with a lot of numbers and I'm back to the GRUB prompt

    Can get into PCLinux ok but I've (or SSM ) clearly broken something

    I can hit F12 and boot from CD so I can at least get to the Paragon Disk Manager but thats all

    What are my options please :)
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I don't suppose you have an image of your system to restore?
     
  3. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Since posting I've found my Acronis Boot CD and that got me back to the Secure Zone and successfully restored the image there. Good old Acronis again :thumb:

    Was a bit afraid that that wouldn't work to be honest. All looked a bit serious.

    Dont what happened but of course I've now lost GRUB so need to restore that from the live CD.

    Must have corrupted something or other.

    Thanks anyway Peter
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I don't care what the product disk images are life savers.:thumb:
     
  5. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    I found that I could also use Acronis to image my linux partition. Think I booted from the ATI boot disk to do it since it is already running linux.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.