I've got curious,and switched but how long for ?......

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DVD+R, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    12 months still on Avira Antivirus Pro, however I got curious as to how Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 shapes up. according to av comparatives, little or no difference at all. So I jumped Online and purchased a 1PC 2 YR Kaspersky IS 2015 Licence for just $10 :) Now if I find I'm disappointed with it in anyway, I haven't spent a whole lot, and can probably give the Licence away to a friend
     
  2. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    I have KIS 2015 on one of my systems and I'm quite pleased with it. Detection is nice, usability is nice, prices are nice. I can't make a reliable comment on system impact since the computer I'm using it on is quite above average specwise.
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Mine neither I'm on a i5-4690 and ASUS GTX 750Ti, those 2 alone should handle anything real world time performance wise + an ASUS Z97M-PLUS Board
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    On my i7 laptop I can still see minor differences in performance between various AV products.
     
  5. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Higher performance doesn't mean you will see less of an impact. In fact it can make any slight impact even more pronounced. It's like driving a fine sports car, and then putting bad tires on it. You'll notice. But you won't necessarily notice those crappy tires on a Chevy Sonic. My desktops have i7-5960X 8 core, 16 threads, with Mushkin Redline's, and I notice even slight performance hits. Mortal is the same way, he notices...
     
  6. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Contrary to all online reviews or benchmarks where they Kaspersky Internet Security / Bitdefender Internet Security, they are the heaviest on my system. Please look at my signature to see the specs, this is a killer laptop, yet Kaspersky makes my laptop cry and beg for mercy and Bitdefender cripples my internet + has lots of FPS + includes enough bloatware to make even a grandma cry and run away from it.

    It seems like Kaspersky / Bitdefender excel in these benchmarks as they probably do good in tests like file copying, program launching, etc. But try to install a program with a huge EXE installer such as NERO Platinum Suite or so and watch how it would take about 10 seconds for the installer to even start extracting the files. Seems like Kaspersky wants to unpack / extract every installer before it even runs which slows things down a lot. Furthermore, 80% of the systems that I get to repair due to slowness, random popups, etc, have all been infected with PUP such as Baidu's crap, PC Optimizer, PatchMyPc, you name it. Kaspersky is very bad at detecting PUPs. Even if it scores great in reviews, you can't have a cake with one quarter missing and call it a cake....it's not complete.....thus....the end result........an infected system even if it's not technically a virus.

    Want more?

    Kaspersky has a lot of quirks, meaning, it interferes with a lot of programs and cripples them. Take for example 6 months back, when I ran KIS for a good while, everytime I try to burn a disc using Nero Platinum Suite, the burn would stop with a failure towards the end on the LEAD OUT. I checked their forums and there was a thread about this, many users complained.

    If you even take a look at their forums, you will see that the majority of complaints are stuff that cripples the system, stuff such as delayed startup, slow internet, this or that not working. That's really scary. I know every AV has problems but their problems are terrible and I wonder how such a poorly programmed AV can get ANY award. Guess those reviewers just throw a bunch of viruses at it, it catches them all and they call it a day!

    Want more??

    Kaspersky's browser addons are useless...........everytime Firefox gets updated, the addons are disabled and do not work anymore......by the time Kaspersky releases a patch to fix them......Firefox is already on a new version so you are basically running without their useless addons such as Virtual Keyboard, HTTP Scanner, etc. Their support team have been having this issue since years and they cannot work with Mozilla to prepare the add-ons whilst the browser is in BETA or find a way around it!

    Want more? Reinstall your AV due to any reason be it system corruption, trying out new drivers/software/etc. and your license is blacklisted and it would take support a minimum of 1 week to unlock it only after you have sent proof and bla bla bla that you are the owner even though it is registered under your My Kaspersky Account! I can go on forever but this should give you an image what Kaspersky is....

    just my 2 cents worth
     
  7. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    Actually it does. What seems huge on boot with a 5400 rpm disc may just take a few secs on an SSD. An app that tries to use all of your ram in a 2 GB setup may barely touch anything with 16 GBs, etc etc. Can your experience vary ? Yes and why? People have different specs, different systems (applications and hence interactions), different personal tolerances, different use styles (i.e. Maybe you don't game and don't notice the software messes with the system), so on.

    @Mortal Raptor

    Never experienced any of the issues you had or brought up barring the addon problem with KIS. Why I am bothering to tell this ? To tell experiences may vary.
     
  8. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Right, so me and you both use Firefox 37 for example.......tomorrow Firefox 38 gets released and all addons on my system are disabled due to incompatibility.......how will my system and your vary? Regarding this specific issues, everytime a new FF version is released I'd see many threads which are often all merged into one regarding the addons compatibility, it's a never ending story

    Anyway, as I said, this is my experience, if it works for you then great.
     
  9. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    SSD's are a huge difference. A fast system with ANY HD is a slow system compared to a slower system with an SSD.

    But I agree with Mortal, I won't touch Kaspersky stuff.. Too buggy, and I always find infected machines when I come back to it. In the enterprise realms, almost nobody will touch it.
     
  10. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Right!.. As I mentioned, I only purchased an OEM Licence for $10, Ok I just looked and I didn't mention OEM but it is, but that's irrelevant. Kaspersky is out! and Avira is back in, I renewed to May 2018 $15 More but well worth it. Kaspersky spiked My CPU to 100% and that's a Huge minus mark on my opinion, and the usually sites I visit stopped to a crawl. In My daily business I cant afford delays like that, I can lose $'s in even the slightest delay If I miss the cut off point even by seconds and that's a No No!. The main reason I tested Kaspersky again was to minimize the use of 1 program instead of 2, but back to Avira and Outpost again for Me :isay:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    will not run kaspersky now or in the foreseeable future....
     
  12. coolcfan

    coolcfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    123
    Kaspersky: BSOD when clicking "exit" in the right button menu of the tray icon.

    When I read that, I removed it from my "AV-to-try" list.
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    different people different experiences. mine was same bad as mentioned - years ago.
    nevertheless kaspersky even produce trouble on regular office and web machines without reason - and wont change anything. au contraire - it get some new code added vs newer malware but the old "quirks" were not resolved. there seems not enough man power to do that.
    anyway the market demands for such behavior - new aggressors need new methods. but allmost all av vendors do so while competing.
     
  14. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I wouldn't trust avast! either.

    I urge to to try one of the following AVs:

    Trend Micro Antivirus+ Security (has a firewall sort of enhancer with it or you can get Trend Internet Security)
    NOD32 Antivirus (not ESET Smart Security that's too heavy) NOD32 does HTTP scanning so any program trying to make any suspicious connection in or out of your system it's caught
    Norton Security (very light, has a firewall built in, great detections)
     
  15. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Avast? I never said Avast I said Avira o_O
     
  16. chillstream

    chillstream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    I can confirm this is a long-standing issue with KIS ever since the Firefox team switched to the accelerated release cycle.
    And it happens exactly as MortalRaptor said; by the time Kaspersky gets off their asses and patched their plugins to work with the browser, Mozilla updates Firefox to the next version breaking compatibility again.
    I complained about this to their support and received just canned responses. Mind you, that was in 2011(!) and to see that this problem still exists just goes to show how much Firefox users are valued by Kaspersky.
    Other security vendors who provide Firefox plugins rarely have this problem. For example, Symantec always works with Mozilla and updates its plugins only days after a new FX release, if not immediately.
     
  17. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't believe the http scanner watches for "suspicious connections", it rather scans the contents with its signatures / heuristics.
     
  18. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    I must be extremely lucky not experiencing such problems after seeing the thread is full of negative experiences. Since it works for me on that computer I will continue using it.

    @DVD+R

    Btw there are some nice deals with Trend too. You might want to try it too. (The trial version before purchasing OFC)
     
  19. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    my bad, I had just woken up :D Avira is good :)
     
  20. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Thank you sir, it is indeed a never ending chase between cat and mouse.....Kaspersky after Firefox and never catching up. Other vendors when updating the plugins/addons make sure they would be compatible even with at least the next major release. With Norton Security, when you first install NS, it does state the addon is not compatible but just after the initial update of NS followed by a reboot seems to fix the issue :) From my experience, by the time a new FF version is final NS would update beforehand to make the addons compatible. That's how it should be with Kaspersky being ranked at the top and cannot even get a simple thing such as addons working; let alone fixing their product bugs. To ma a product with great detection but lots of bugs / quirks is no good.
     
  21. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    what I like about it is if I'm installing a program which has PUPs, take for example.....Shark 007's Codec pack. Although the codec pack is good, it is infested with malware/adware/PUPs......the moment I run the installed, NOD32 blocks 2 connections which I see in a popup to the adware author. Also when visiting a bad site it prevents me from visiting it just like a firewall would..... That and the Windows Firewall is just enough for me.... :)
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    You must always try products that interest you on your own machine. I have KIS 2015 running on a 6 year old laptop with almost no performance hit at all. I have installed many products on many machines and what runs well on one may run really slow on another. There is also the potential of conflicts with other software, different versions of Windows may run differently, etc.
     
  23. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    true, that's why I always say, (in my experience) so if it works for you then great!
     
Loading...