iTunesSetup.exe?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by WilliamP, Mar 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Last night before going to bed I saw that on my desk top. I asked my wife about it and she didn't know anything. We were the only ones here. So I right clicked on it and it wouldn't let me delete it. This afternoon I ran Ewido and NOD32. I know I can go ito safe mode and delete it but where did it come from. It appears to have been down loaded but not run. It doesn't show up in Task Manager or in PG.
     
  2. rve123

    rve123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Oude Wetering (The Netherlands)
    Hello :)

    Itunes is a music-program from Apple: http://www.apple.com/itunes/

    But how it came on your desk o_O
    I think somebody downloaded it.

    QuickTime is in the same setup. Maybe someone wanted to have QuickTime??
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    After I posted I tried to delete again and this time I was able to delete it. I know I didn't download it and my wife said she didn't. So?
     
  4. rve123

    rve123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Oude Wetering (The Netherlands)
    As far as I know Apple has nothing to do with malware.

    But I can't explain how it appeared on your desko_O
    It's included in some other software, but then it will be installed and there will no installer appear on your desk.

    Very strange :doubt:
     
  5. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    What probably happened is that someone went to a page that required QuickTime and it asked if you wanted to get it now, and someone agreed.
     
  6. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Why you have to delete it? :rolleyes: :'( It's one of the best music player in my pc's. :oops:

    I have iTunes from Apple installed in my pc, and it's great and easy to use for your music library. Have your pc connected with good sounding stereo speakers and it sounds great. Everything was in there...you'll really will felt like a DJ jockey. You can play, copy, and also burn music using iTunes. :D ;)
     
  7. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Check the size of the file as itunes plus the itunesteup.exe will have 'itunes Installer Apple Computers Inc.' when you hover mouse over the icon. I have itunes installed on my laptop as I need it for my ipod but notice when I go to itunes store from my main PC click on a link to view they do prompt for the download of itunes but I have never had the download icon just appear without prompting o_O

    Actually just downloading a backup copy now and the actual file size to download is 34.8mb.
    Version 6.0.4.2 HTH
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I assume that I got this thru Quick Time. Don't really know what Quick Time is . I did a search on my computer for Quick Time. There is a bunch of files that showed up. Nothing shows as running in Task Man or anywhere else. What is it for?
     
  9. rve123

    rve123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Oude Wetering (The Netherlands)
  10. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Personally I don't like QT but I have no option as itunes/ipod require this.
    I actually don't run or use it - only there because itunes insists it is :( but one thing you may like to do is remove the 'atboottime' for QuickTime.
    I use regprot when it is installed to stop this part as it is not required at boot but you can use msconfig to remove this if you don't want to add this to your start up processes. If it attempts to run atboot when on a website etc Regprot will alert me again.
     
  11. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    I also have an ipod, but I do use Quicktime alternative. :cool:
    Never liked Quicktime, because it made my system unstable.
    Don't use Itunes either, but instead use WinAmp. :)
     
  12. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Cool to know your ipod still works without the real QT.
    I left well alone as I didn't want to upset my ipod :oops:
    I kept itunes to my laptop as I did fear it may cause problems on the desktop PC although was thinking about using my pod from there after my reformat.

    I didn't realise WinAmp & the Alt. QT would keep the pod happy - mine is the 5th generation with video (don't use that bit) so this is why I was extra careful as it was only from the 5G's they insisted on QT.
     
  13. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    If it works for you, why change it.
    Of course on a reformat you could try another one. :D
    Works like a charm, never had problems with it.
    If you want to use it with WinAmp, you need to download the iPod Support Plug-in. :cool:

    Have a nice weekend B. :-*
     
  14. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    ;) thanks Eldar something for me to investigate and perhaps change my ipod's mind!

    Always helpful with advice Eldar - hope Opera 9 is soon to be out of beta ;)

    Relax and enjoy your weekend.
     
  15. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    Another vote for QuickTime alternative. I've seen QuickTime used on websites for amazing interactive 360° paranomic photos - e.g. the virtual tour of Oxford.
     
  16. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have just downloaded the alt. QT it will work well on my desktop as I don't have any QT there at all.
    I would love to use the 360° tours etc

    Question: I have the real QT installed with itunes on my laptop is it possible to install this alt. one to use on webpages without actually uninstalling the itunes one at this stage?

    I mainly use Opera so presume the plugin would work without calling on the real version?
     
  17. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Don't know exactly, but if you've the real QT installed, I would uninstall it prior to installing QT alternative.
    They might conflict when both are present. :rolleyes:
    You don't have to uninstall Itunes. :)
    See above B. ;)
     
  18. zillah

    zillah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.