It's time to image...I think

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by FadeAway, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    I just treated myself to a brand new XP machine in my den. It's all mine
    no other users. The best part is that the new machine has
    two installed 160GB HDDs. My old machine had only one 40 GB drive.
    The new machine has an ATH3500 CPU & 1 Gb RAM.

    Over the years, XP got reinstalled on that old machine about 15 times,
    as a result of my playing with various software. It seems now is
    the time for imaging software, about which I know absolutely nothing.
    From a little searching, it seems that ATI and Norton Ghost are
    quite popular. I think what I want to be able to do is take a picture
    of XP with all my applications and settings installed, and restore it,
    then update any changed data files.

    Could some of you experts point me at some websites or forum threads
    where I could learn a bit about such software? Any and all
    comments and recommendations of any kind would be most welcome.

    Thanks.
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    ShadowProtect Desktop ($70) is fast and reliable.
    http://www.storagecraft.com/products/ShadowProtectDesktop/

    FirstDefense-ISR (Immediate System Recovery, not Image Backup)
    http://www.horizondatasys.com/253715.ihtml
    This is optional and luxury of course, but Image Backup is a must.

    I use both because I want to be invincible.

    You also need a tool to zero or wipe your harddisk, because the killdisk virus seems to make any Recovery CD useless, unless you zero/wipe your harddisk first completely and then the Recovery CD will do its job.

    PS: don't install Acronis True Image and ShadowProtect at the same time, they don't like eachother.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2007
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
  5. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Hello!

    I personally use ShadowProtect Desktop (i just bought it yesterday) and i combine with it FirstDefense-ISR (Immediate System Recovery, not Image Backup). I have also used Acronis, it is also good. I didnt had any problems with it.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    I'd love to get ShadowProtect (it seems the logical patner of ShadowUser), but I've been using ATI for a long while now, and it hasn't failed once. In principle I don't collect programs.
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Acronis trueimage is definitely best imo. I use it on all my systems. If you have seagate hard drives you can download seagate discwizard for free. Its basically a rebranded trueimage 10.
     
  8. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Here is a thread about shadowprotect here at wilders.
    I too am a Shadowprotect user, it is a great app, fast and extremely reliabel ime. Some might find it a bit expensive though
    If you dont want to spend that much money I can recommend Image for Windows (and DOS) another extremely reliable imaging software. I´ve used it for a year or so and was very happy with it. Shadow protect is much faster and have incremetal backup possibilities that made me buy it.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I also have ShadowProtect. I've used and own Acronis V9. Ten has too much bloat. Also my experience with Acronis software is you are fine if you stick to basic functions, but I don't trust pushing it to the edge.

    Pete
     
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes the price is normally $50. An upgrade from v9 to v10 costs $30, but I didn't want that upgrade because of the bloat. I added $40 to $30 and bought ShadowProtect, which has no bloat, only usefull additional functions that improve backup/restore. The only advantage of v10 is compatibility with winVISTA. I hope this helps. LOL.
     
  12. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    The 'advantage' of ATI 10 over ATI 9 is that v10 will work with Vista. However, I choose not to use Vista and v9 works very well with XP, so I have no need for v10. $18 is a very good price for v9 if it's a legal copy (otherwise you won't be able to register and download updates)! ;)
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    FadeAway,
    Whatever Image Backup software you will choose, don't buy it immediately, trial it first as long you can.
    Test the backup and above all the restore in the trial period as many times as possible. If it works properly, then buy it.
     
  14. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Hi all

    Thank you for the replies thus far. Being totally ignorant about
    imaging software, I am not yet prepared to make any comments or ask
    any intelligent questions. I will first need to follow up on all the info
    provided by each responder.

    By way of clarification, the drives are Seagates, but cost is not
    an issue. Being a computer user, and not a computer hobbyist, I always
    seek products which are solid, reliable, and uncomplicated. Whatever
    the cost, just consider it as part of the price of the new machine.

    The hardware is Vista compliant, upgrading to Vista is an option,
    but there are no plans on doing it soon, so Vista compatibility
    is not important at this point.

    I would like to get something installed fairly soon while I know
    the machine is perfectly clean. It is custom built, and has only
    been three days since it arrived from the shop.
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Well, the best Image Backup Softwares have been mentioned, the choice is upto you.

    Backup and restore aren't that difficult.
    Backup is taking an image of your harddisk and store that image on another harddisk (external or internal) and restore is the opposite.
    You can compress the image during the backup.
    You can encrypt the image during the backup, if it's available.
    You can also restore single files by mounting the image.
    You can schedule these backups or not.
    The best softwares guide you with wizards to make it even easier.

    Once you have choosen an Image Backup software, members can help and teach you how to work with the choosen software, faster than the manual, but you have to choose first.
    If you don't like the software, uninstall it and trial the next one.
     
  16. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    OK ... First Question:

    Is this how it happens: o_O

    1. Image software program is installed on C:\ drive (master)

    2. Windows OS and all other applications are on C:\

    3. All my data files (Photo albums, Docs, spreadsheets, installers, etc.)
    I save to E:\ drive (slave)

    4. I tell Image program to image drive C:\, & save image to E:\

    5. I need to restore broken Windows on C:\

    6. I tell Image program to restore E:\saved image
    (do I need to wipe C:\ before restore?)

    7. All OS and application programs on C:\ are deleted and replaced
    by saved image from E:\

    8. Data files originally saved to E:\ remain intact and untouched.

    9. I reboot and am back to before Windows got broken

    If something prevents the imaging software from running, there is some
    kind of emergency boot CD
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2007
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Op said HDD are Seagates. Seagate offers free rebranded stripped down ATI.
     
  18. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    1. That is the right place for installing an Image Backup software.
    You will also have a Recovery CD to restore an Image. You can create that Recovery CD with a function of the Image Backup software.
    If your partition [C:] is corrupted, you will need that CD to restore an image from [E:], because your Image Backup software won't work anymore.

    2. That is also very normal.

    3. Saving your data files on another partition [E:] is also good, I do the same thing.

    4. That is possible and good, although I would save the image on an EXTERNAL harddisk.

    5. That can happen, because partition [C:] is the most vulnerable partition.

    6. That is what you have to do in order to restore the system partition and can be done.
    No you do NOT have to wipe your partition [C:] before restore.
    The backup software will replace your harddisk with the image.
    After a serious destructive malware attack (killdisk virus) I usually wipe out my harddisk
    first before I restore. I feel better when I start with a clean harddisk.

    7. That is correct

    8. That is correct, because you restored the partition [C:], not the partition [E:]
    So partition [E:] remains UNCHANGED and also the image of partition [C:] is still on [E:]

    9. That is correct.

    I also have a question : your partition [E:] contains all your personal data.
    Where are you going to store the image of partition [E:] ?
    Losing your personal data is a much bigger disaster than losing your Windows and Programs.
    Harddisks can crash (physical damage) and when partition [E:] crashes and you don't have an image, you will lose ALL your personal data.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2007
  19. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Hi ErikAlbert

    Thanks so much for the helpful, detailed reply. I was editing my post as you
    were making yours (see the comment added after point 9 of my last post).

    With everyone's help, I now feel confident to begin trialing some products.
    When that begins (tomorrow), I'm sure I will be back with questions.

    As to personal data, I back it up quite regularly on encrypted CDs, and always
    keep three versions back.
     
  20. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Since you are new to backup don't start with Terabyte's Image Backup software, because that software is not userfriendly.
     
  21. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    So far so good, but I have another question.

    After studying all the info provided in this thread by you generous
    members, I have downloaded and installed Seagate's DiscWizard, which
    is ATI rebadged for Seagate.

    The program Wizards make it really EASY!

    Thus far I have created an image of primary drive C:\ and saved it to
    internal drive 2, which is E:\.

    Then, following the Wizards, I created an emergency bootable CD.

    I am now ready to test a restore of C:\. About half way through the
    restore wizard, it asks whether or not Track 0 and the MBR should
    be restored with the image. I do not know enough to be able to
    answer that one, and cannot figure it out from reading the Help files.

    Before I attempt a restore, and mess up the works, could someone help
    me answer that option correctly?

    If I decide to go with ATI, I will move future questions to the Acronis
    forum, if that is appropriate.

    Thank you again (feel free to add any other comments).
     
  22. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I always restored the Track 0 and MBR, never had a problem with it and I think it is a good habit too in case you have softwares that change the MBR.
    It's logical that you restore the MBR from the image, otherwise you might have another MBR.

    In the past when FirstDefense-ISR still used the MBR (not anymore), it was very important to restore the MBR also; otherwise the Pre-boot was disabled.
     
  23. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Fadeaway,
    All support from this private labeled program must come from Seagate.

    If you were to post your question on the Acronis forum, my guess is that the "volunteers" would try to help you but there would be no help from Acronis Support and they might even remove your post--but that's a guess on my part.

    Check my guides below and they may help. The private version is limited in functions.

    More info about this private label version can be found here by Mustang
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...php?t=175584#7
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  24. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for that info. I am brand new to imaging software, and trying
    to learn it. The Seagate version is my first attempt, with the expectation
    that more will be trialed. I may end up with the full ATI paid version,
    or something else. Too early to tell.

    I have downloaded your guides and bookmarked the links, and will
    read them before I continue.
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I concur with Erik. I use Shadowprotect and always restore the MBR and track 0. I want the disk back the way it was when I imaged.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.