it this normal for kerio 4 to be....

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by zfactor, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

zfactor Registered Member

such a resource hog? almost all the other sites i read info on kerio says it is so " light " on resources i just really dont see that with over 25mb being used. on my home machine 2gb ram p4 3.2 oc'ed to 3.9 on water w/3mb dsl connection it runs wonderful, at my retail store i own i cannot get either dsl or cable so i am stuck with dial up. it is just terrible trying to even browse the net. if i disable it, it gets a little better with it uninstalled it runs as good as i could expect from dial up. i have been on the kerio forums and emailed them and according to them my settings should all be fine. i have used previous firewalls in the past and have some experience configuring them; i am no expert but do know enough advanced setting to make a fairly secure firewall.

can anyone shed light on this ? know of anything else much lighter on the system, i do not like za or sygate much at all. not saying they are bad firewalls they each have good and bad about them i just do not like them so i am not bashing either of the two. i just would choose not to use either.

2. Arup

Arup Guest

I can tell you that Kerio 2.15 with BZ rules never goes up over 7mb in my ancient dual CPU P-III system nor on the Dual AMD 64 system. Add Winsonar or Abtrusion Protector for access control and the total still comes to a measly 12-14mb.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2005
  3. Diver

Diver Registered Member

Kerio 4 is a memory hog. Ah yes, 3.9 gigahertz and dial up. I hope your games run well, but the old sub 1 ghz clunkers I have around here will surf nicely with a cable modem, even if it takes a while to open the browser.

4. zfactor