Is your logging in security programs eatting up resources?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by YODA, Jul 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. YODA

    YODA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Hey guys, well thought i just share this...So i'm wondering how come my AV/Firewall have been taking up more resources lately, and by doing little tweaks like turning off extra stuff that aren't needed and cleaning out your loggin can save up some resources. It ended up cutting down my resources for these programs in half. =)
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Re: Logging in security programs take up resources

    Hi yoda,
    what is your antivirus and firewall?
    well disabling stuff means the antivirus has less to scan.
    lodore
     
  3. YODA

    YODA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    kav/outpost

    yeah thats true less stuff to scan, but some features are redundent with other security programs...and there are some features that don't serve me any purpose. I'm not sure if you guys use all the features, but again if its not needed it just eatting up resources.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nice combo.
    so you have gone to reports in kav and deleted them?
    what browser do you use?
    do you clean out the cache your browser often?
    lodore
     
  5. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Outpost's logging is known to consume resources, turning it off increases performance markedly.
     
  6. YODA

    YODA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Yep clean out the browser often(crapclean), using seamonkey. Been also testing browser too(FF,IE, netscape7.2, seamonkey). Seamonkey has seem to do the best so far on this machine with resources..

    For the KAV logs yeah i just deleted all the logs in the data base, the old logs weren't really serving any purpose.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.