IS with HIPS?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ohmy, Sep 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,

    I was just wondering if there is a IS product with a HIPS.

    I only saw IS product with AV, AS, FW.

    I heard that NIS 2009 has Norton Antibot, a Behavior Blocker.

    I also heard that KIS have HIPS, but I'm not sure.

    Are there any other IS with HIPS?

    And maybe Heuristics and HIPS together?

    (IS products seems to cover a lot more than just AV AS FW theses days.)

    Thanks!
     
  2. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    KasperskyInternetSecurity has HIPS and heuristics, although, I think most, if not, all AVs have heuristics these days.

    I dont know about other IS's which have HIPS, although I'm guessing a few others do... lets wait and see :)
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes KISS 2009 has PDM which is a behavior blocker. It can be set to be loud or quiet. Even in loud, it isnt as trigger happy as the likes of D+.
     
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Few off the top of my head NIS 2009, ZoneAlarm 2009 IS, Kaspersky, Online Armor IS. (I believe Avira has it also)

    I know there is more. but cant think of them off the top of my head.
     
  5. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Kaspersky, Norton, F-secure and Panda all have HIPS. McAfee also has some HIPS function but they are turned off by default. I think virtually all signature scanners has some kind of heuristics these days.
     
  6. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Rising firewall and AV both have HIPS.
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,501
  8. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    There is Comodo IS beta that will do this.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    avast has a beh blocker
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    F-Secure has Deepguard, which in my opinion is the best of the bunch.

    10/10
     
  11. Jin K

    Jin K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    i have used some of them!!

    and kaspersky was my choice powerfull PDM and Hips!!

    anyway i advice you to try them and see what is the best for you ??
     
  12. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Yep.

    The HIPS (Defense+) in CIS is quieter now thanks to the AV & Upgrades D+ Technologies. It will only get more quieter with the upcoming integrations :)
     
  13. saberfox

    saberfox Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    There's no such thing. The only reason D+ is quieter now is because the amount of things it covers now - and hence the amount of protection provided - by default has been reduced, NOT because of so-called upgrades to the technology (there aren't any). If you add those rules back to get the necessary amount of protection it becomes as noisy as ever.

    D+ still lacks any ability to rollback changes done by malware or terminate offending processes on the spot. Instead of worrying about which suite has a HIPS, just install the one you like and add ThreatFire to it; problem solved.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,132
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Although Online Armor has firewall & HIPS, its AV (Kaspersky) is NOT a full-scope antivirus program. Therefore I would hesitate to call OA an IS.

    Avira as yet has no HIPS of any kind.
     
  15. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    What do you mean by full scope?
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,132
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The Kaspersky AV included with OA AV+ is not the full KAV program. AV+ is not your traditional AV. It merely does a scan when you execute files. It will flag a file as dangerous when infected and you have the ability to block. The AV+ does not check actively all files on your system (read and write) like a traditional AV. Neither does it have a "stand-alone on-demand scanner."

    Read...

    Hither, Thither, & Yon.
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    With PCTools SpyDoctor with AV, you can add the the "Behavior Guard" addon for HIPS.
    Behavior Guard here is a renamed version of Threatfire.
     
  18. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Well a scan on execution is quite wide in terms of coverage. Can you think of a situation where an on-read or on-write scan would have prevented malware from infecting your computer but an on-execution wouldn't have?
     
  19. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,624
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  20. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    BitDefender.
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,132
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Look - you asked a question. I answered it. I also gave you multiple links on the OnlineArmor support forum that verify my answer that OA AV+ is NOT a full-scope AV. Even Mike Nash readily admits that fact.

    Now you want to debate the necessity for having a full-scope AV in an IS? That is NOT the topic of this thread. Find someone else to spar with!
     
  22. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not looking to spar nor am I disputing the facts so don't take it personally. It is a legimate and relevant question so can anyone answer it?
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  23. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    On their website, they don't seem to mention it? o_O
     
  24. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    From AV-Comparatives Latest proactive test report:

     
  25. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    BitDefender 2009 products include a behavioral blocker. You need first to switch to advanced view after that go to antivirus if you change the protection level this will also increase the amount of pop-up's.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.