IS with HIPS?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ohmy, Sep 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,

    I was just wondering if there is a IS product with a HIPS.

    I only saw IS product with AV, AS, FW.

    I heard that NIS 2009 has Norton Antibot, a Behavior Blocker.

    I also heard that KIS have HIPS, but I'm not sure.

    Are there any other IS with HIPS?

    And maybe Heuristics and HIPS together?

    (IS products seems to cover a lot more than just AV AS FW theses days.)

    Thanks!
     
  2. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    KasperskyInternetSecurity has HIPS and heuristics, although, I think most, if not, all AVs have heuristics these days.

    I dont know about other IS's which have HIPS, although I'm guessing a few others do... lets wait and see :)
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes KISS 2009 has PDM which is a behavior blocker. It can be set to be loud or quiet. Even in loud, it isnt as trigger happy as the likes of D+.
     
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Few off the top of my head NIS 2009, ZoneAlarm 2009 IS, Kaspersky, Online Armor IS. (I believe Avira has it also)

    I know there is more. but cant think of them off the top of my head.
     
  5. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Kaspersky, Norton, F-secure and Panda all have HIPS. McAfee also has some HIPS function but they are turned off by default. I think virtually all signature scanners has some kind of heuristics these days.
     
  6. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Rising firewall and AV both have HIPS.
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  8. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    There is Comodo IS beta that will do this.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    avast has a beh blocker
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    F-Secure has Deepguard, which in my opinion is the best of the bunch.

    10/10
     
  11. Jin K

    Jin K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    i have used some of them!!

    and kaspersky was my choice powerfull PDM and Hips!!

    anyway i advice you to try them and see what is the best for you ??
     
  12. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Yep.

    The HIPS (Defense+) in CIS is quieter now thanks to the AV & Upgrades D+ Technologies. It will only get more quieter with the upcoming integrations :)
     
  13. saberfox

    saberfox Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    There's no such thing. The only reason D+ is quieter now is because the amount of things it covers now - and hence the amount of protection provided - by default has been reduced, NOT because of so-called upgrades to the technology (there aren't any). If you add those rules back to get the necessary amount of protection it becomes as noisy as ever.

    D+ still lacks any ability to rollback changes done by malware or terminate offending processes on the spot. Instead of worrying about which suite has a HIPS, just install the one you like and add ThreatFire to it; problem solved.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Although Online Armor has firewall & HIPS, its AV (Kaspersky) is NOT a full-scope antivirus program. Therefore I would hesitate to call OA an IS.

    Avira as yet has no HIPS of any kind.
     
  15. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    What do you mean by full scope?
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The Kaspersky AV included with OA AV+ is not the full KAV program. AV+ is not your traditional AV. It merely does a scan when you execute files. It will flag a file as dangerous when infected and you have the ability to block. The AV+ does not check actively all files on your system (read and write) like a traditional AV. Neither does it have a "stand-alone on-demand scanner."

    Read...

    Hither, Thither, & Yon.
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    With PCTools SpyDoctor with AV, you can add the the "Behavior Guard" addon for HIPS.
    Behavior Guard here is a renamed version of Threatfire.
     
  18. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Well a scan on execution is quite wide in terms of coverage. Can you think of a situation where an on-read or on-write scan would have prevented malware from infecting your computer but an on-execution wouldn't have?
     
  19. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  20. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    BitDefender.
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Look - you asked a question. I answered it. I also gave you multiple links on the OnlineArmor support forum that verify my answer that OA AV+ is NOT a full-scope AV. Even Mike Nash readily admits that fact.

    Now you want to debate the necessity for having a full-scope AV in an IS? That is NOT the topic of this thread. Find someone else to spar with!
     
  22. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not looking to spar nor am I disputing the facts so don't take it personally. It is a legimate and relevant question so can anyone answer it?
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  23. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    On their website, they don't seem to mention it? o_O
     
  24. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    From AV-Comparatives Latest proactive test report:

     
  25. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    BitDefender 2009 products include a behavioral blocker. You need first to switch to advanced view after that go to antivirus if you change the protection level this will also increase the amount of pop-up's.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.