Is Windows 7 supported?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LordJezo, Jun 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LordJezo

    LordJezo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Is Windows 7 a supported OS for Acronis True Image 11 Home?

    I want to back up my XP system, format the drive, install Windows 7, put True Image 11 Home on the new system, and restore my data from the image made in XP.

    Is this possible or will I not be able to use the product in Windows 7?
     
  2. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    Windows 7 is not yet officially supported
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Mmmm. I have doubts that an install of version 11 would do the job, However you could try by booting from the recovery CD which may well work provided it has the right drivers for your hardware.

    I did read somewhere that an upgrade from XP to Windows 7 is not supported by Microsoft. They expect one to progress via Vista!! I hope I am mistaken.

    Xpilot
     
  4. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I would not install it on Windows 7 as its not officially supported.
    But It is possible to use the Acronis bootdisk to backup and restore Windows 7 as I have done it.

    That the Beta and RC1.
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Version 10 installs and works fine on Windows 7 32-bit and 64-bit. I've given it a pretty good workout on Windows 7 64-bit and haven't found any issues yet. I think I've read a few posts here that described having success with Version 11 also. There have, however, been several posts describing problems with image mounting with the 2009 version.

    Try installing version 11 and see. You can always make an image with the boot CD before installation and then restore it via the boot CD if it doesn't work out.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Current versions of our software do not support Windows 7, since it haven't released as full version. Most probably such support will be added for the full version of this system.

    Please be aware that you can receive the latest information on Acronis software by signing up for Acronis Newsletter.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  7. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    latest ti echo 9.5 is working ok here on the rc (build 7100):thumb:
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    That is correct,and even then they still recommend a clean install on a Vista system. W7 will come with downloadable option(at the moment) of installing XP virtual machine, I'm just trying to remember what problem I had running TI from there, I'll have to look up my previous post.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Alexander,

    Please be aware that it seems that quite a few people DO NOT receive the "latest" information (or any information) after signing up (I'm one of them [and, no, Acronis emails don't end up in a SPAM/JUNK-EMAIL box]).
     
  10. LordJezo

    LordJezo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I guess we will have to wait and see then.

    I wonder if it does not work if we will have an upgrade path with the backup software instead of having to buy a full new release. I love the backup software and would like to continue using it into Windows 7.
     
  11. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Interesting thought and it would be nice but I think W7 is going to be released for sale around the time Acronis usually releases its next version.
     
  12. Retired24

    Retired24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Posts:
    27
    I have been using ATI 10 on every Win7 x64 build released and leaked - no problems doing full disk back up and restores. I've done a ton of then w/o any issues.


    Yesterday I installed build 7201x64 and ATI 10 will not work, compatibility issues. I purchased ATI 2009 and it works fine on 7201.

    YMMV

    I am using the Home version and only do full backups and restores - nothing fancy.
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis Products

    As temporarily workaround you can install Acronis True Image program on any supported operating system (see respective user guide) then create Acronis bootable disc and use it to backup/restore Windows 7 system.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.