Is this normal?? Can't believe this

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Horus37, Jan 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Horus37

    Horus37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    328
    I bought a 250 GB external USB hdd and after I formatted it to ntfs it says the capacity is 233 GB now. What the ....? What is on the 17 GB that I can't access on this brand new backup hdd right out of the box?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    right-click on the drive in My Computer and look at the properties for th exact values.
     
  4. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    the HDD is GB
    the OS is GiB

    not the same thing,

    the only real "missing" space is a very small amount of filesystem overhead
    (varies with the file system but generally proportional more or less)
    and is totally unavoidable

    the difference between the two measuement systems was minimal when it all started and is ever increasing as capacities grow.

    Binary vs. Decimal Measurements

    http://i10.tinypic.com/29axxzp.jpg


    in the past people have pointed the finger at HDD manufacturers, but its an industry standard to measure in GB (MB) and an OS standard to measure in GiB but list it as GB
    so my personal opinion is to complain about the OS "misinformation" :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Have a 120 GB internal slave hdd that only shows up as 111 GB in Windows. Drove me nuts until I tracked down exactly what Ice_Czar stated. If I understand correctly though the entire drive can\will be used. It just will show the size differently.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The values that matter are those displayed in the drives properties.
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Capacity: shows as 120,031,477,760 bytes 111 GB
     
  8. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado

    still measured as GiB and incorrectly reported as GB
    http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Units/binary.html

    however some companies have chosen to ignore this simple and necessary change in notation that would once and for all eliminate these constant and never ending threads of where the hell did all my space go!

    SI prefix has always been DECIMAL
    applying it to Binary was not of much consequence to the end user till the capacity explosion in HDDs pointed up this problem, now its bad and going to get worse if they dont start to adopt the proper notation in the damn OS! This isnt rocket science its just a few damn i's

    http://i11.tinypic.com/29mxhg3.jpg

    then folks would say HEY whats the difference?
    and l o o k i t u p
    right now they start out with feeling ripped off not suspecting their OS is lying to them
    but a few little i's and theyd at least have a clue that there is something a little different here.

    You dont feel ripped off if you buy 5 pounds of potatos only to find youve been given 2.26796185 kilograms of em. :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    THe "byte" values reported in Properties are correct.
    THe other values do not matter and are neve rused within software, just eye candy.
     
  10. Ice_Czar

    Ice_Czar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Posts:
    696
    Location:
    Boulder Colorado
    THe "byte" values reported in Properties are correct.
    But they do not matter and are never processed by users. :p

    its like asking someone you pick out of a crowd to comprehend 127 to a power of 12
    in the dim recesses of their mind they recall a 3rd grade math class and come to the conclusion its "a lot" but it has no useful reference to anything they can put into a scale \ context
    we dont measure the distance between towns in inches,
    we'd would loose the context of scale

    its a property page for users, not the computer
    the computer already knows how many bytes there are ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.