Is this adequate protection for work/home PC

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by PhoenixWeb, Jan 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hi

    I am a website designer so my PC is central to my work. With this in mind and also the security of my customer's information (stored on my PC), I just want to check to see whether the security measures I have settled on are adequate.

    My current set up is:

    Firefox (NoScript)
    Thunderbird (Email forwarded through GMail for spam filtering)
    Comodo Firewall
    AntiVir Personal Premium
    SUPERantispyware Pro
    ProSecurity Free
    Windows automatic updates ON

    I also use Bitdefender Free, and AVG Antispyware Free, on demand. In addition I backup my hard drive with Acronis True Image twice a week.

    What do you think? Good? Adequate? Poor? Anything missing? Overkill?

    Thanks in advanced
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    sounds like a great setup to me.
    lodore
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Perhaps a little overkill. Antivir PE Premiun detects PUPS, SAS Pro detects PUPS too.
    Comodo overlaps with PS free.
    I think that your setup is pretty good.
     
  4. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,678
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    U can also adds SpywareBlaster, Harden-IT, SafeXP, and Windows Worm Doors Cleaner. ;)
     
  5. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    You've got to that point where it's all opinions. I agree with the others, if you're comfortable with that (know what they do, how to use them), you're fine.
    Just take a peak at the concept of sandboxing, and see if you'd drop something with that included.
    Maybe you did that already
     
  6. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The reason I went with the ProSecurity Free as well as Comodo firewall was I ran the dfk-threat-simulator-v2, and I was shocked at how easily it terminated Antivir PE Premiun, and SUPERantispyware Pro, and pretty much bypassed CyberHawk (since removed).

    I ran the test again with ProSecurity Free and nothing was terminated and no threats even got going...
     
  7. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    You could reduce the overlap disabling redundant features in Comodo such as "Behaviour Analysis" and "Component Monitor".
     
  8. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Do you know what, that is what I am starting to realise, and I know how everything I have works, and I feel confident with it.

    I did try sandboxing, but I download/install quite a bit of software and music/video files, and it was driving me crazy as I was having to restart my PC all the time etc...
     
  9. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks! That's an excellent idea, if they overlap I may as well...
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    GeSWall and DefenseWall let you download whatever you want. Check them out, either here (plenty of threads) or at their websites.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    well antivir should have self protection soon.
    I belive nick who makes superantispyware is impumenting selfprotection in to superantispyware soon as well.
    kernal mode online armour is out soon.
    that could replace quite a few apps if you willing to try it.
    www.tallemu.com
    lodore
     
  12. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Personally I like the idea of having windows updates set to "notify, but don't download or install". There's stuff you (and I ) might not want. IE7 was released as a priority security upgrade, for example. There's other stuff that sometimes just mightn't be applicable.
     
  13. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I have it set up to notify, although I usually download most things... Working with websites, I had already downloaded the beta version of Internet Explorer to play with, but I only use it for testing websites.
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,684
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I might have gotten the Antivir Suite and removed Commodo thats all. Simply to reduce the number of Apps thats the only reason.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.