Is this a sign of a malware infection?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Fox Mulder, Jul 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    I've noticed that both my desktop and laptop (windows 7) have a very similar error message under System logs. Here is an example:

    The instruction can vary but the referenced memory is always 0x00000014. Both computers do this within about 10 minutes from boot. The laptop is a really fresh install and has nothing on it but COMODO, MBAM, Dropbox, Chrome, Sandboxie and Microsoft Office. I've seen this error associated with Adobe but I have no Adobe products on my system.

    This has been going on my desktop since early June, when I installed Windows 7 again.

    Could this be a result of SEHOP or DEP? Is there a way to see what is at the instruction or at the referenced memory? Or am I just overreacting?
     
  2. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I would run Malwarebytes and if it comes up clean I would run memtest to rule out faulty ram.
     
  3. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Malwarebytes comes up clean. The RAM is also fine. The weird part is that both computers have the same error messages, so I'm wondering if it's a common software cause.
     
  4. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    It could be. Comodo has a sandbox and you are using Sandboxie so that could be a conflict.
     
  5. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    I did make a mistake in my original post, Sandboxie is not installed on my laptop. I don't think it's MBAM, I uninstalled MBAM on my laptop and it still generated the error message.
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what are you doing on comp when the error occurs? does it occur in safe mode?
     
  7. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    What program generates the error? Is it the same program every time or is it different programs?
     
  8. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    It seems to happen on its own within 10 minutes from booting, even without doing anything... on both computers. I haven't tried safe mode, but I will do that soon.

    Here's an example of the error: http://i54.tinypic.com/2i71oab.jpg

    No program is listed as the source of the problem.

    I checked and the only programs that run on both computers on boot are: COMODO Internet Security, MBAM, Dropbox, Virtual CloneDrive.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  10. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    I see this sort of memory error all the time on Google in regards to Adobe Reader, but I don't have Adobe Reader (any version) installed on either PC. It also seems to happen without any user interaction.
     
  11. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    It might be worthwhile to update all your drivers and see if that makes any difference.
     
  12. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Maybe is something related to DEP? You can try to disable it and see if the problem still occurs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.