is there any new Separated on-demand test for F-Secure ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by on-demand, Sep 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    The 6.xx still contains bugs. Quite alot have been fixed recently. If your going by the information posted months back, i can't see it actually being the 6.xx KAV engine as it was still highly experimental (and caused problems with common windows programs, chkdsk etc)
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Maybe its just the way F-Secure reports it. If someone can report the version of any KAV engine files like KAVSS.exe or something else in F-Secure's program folder, then we would know for sure.....:doubt:
     
  3. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Kaspersky uses the same engine files for version 4,5, and 6. You are talking about program version. KAVSS is not a part of KAV engine.


    tD
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Thanks for the correction :)

    I assumed KAVSS to be a part of the engine - since its description reads "KAV Single Scanner"
     
  5. Schouw

    Schouw AV Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Are you really sure about that? :)


    That's not true, engine may even vary between builds.
     
  6. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    You talk about programs, and we talk about engines. Tho Kaspersky's engine versions are not know to us as users. Also IBK don't know them as you can see in the AV-Compratives charts. So I think this would be a nonsense discussion.
     
  7. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    If you look under the engine version info tab(f-secure WS) its says 6.xx. :) But honestly, I don't believe there is a such thing as a number version in KAV products (i.e. engine 3,engine 4, 5 and 6). Please correct me if I am wrong.


    Ok. Please give us details ((because I am struggling here to find any differences).

    Aren't some of the .avc engine files (not only database files)?

    If so then which ones are we missing in version 4 comparing to version 5?

    Thanks


    tD
     
  8. Schouw

    Schouw AV Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No, no details.

    In case you don't know, I work for KL.
    I think that should be enough.
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I know you work for KL.


    tD
     
  10. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    The Scanning engine of KAV 4 and 5 is different. And 6 too also has changes.
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I believe the changes are mostly related to speed.....
     
  12. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    :rolleyes:
    Please explain.

    KAV engines are included with the signature updates. Every time you update your database files, you also update KAV engines (gen***.avc- Generic Detection engine, unp***.avc – unpacking engine, ca.avc - Code Analyzer module, etc).



    tD
     
  13. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    The code analyser and the generic signitures are signitures.
     
  14. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Code Analyzer- Heuristics part of KAVs engine.
    Generic engine- KAVs Generic detection engine (detects multiple variants of the same malware family using a single virus definition).



    tD
     
  15. Mack Jones

    Mack Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    France
    Please Gents, forgive me my off-topic post, but...
    I wonder if the old AVP 3.0/3.5 engines are good enough (on slower machine with 98/NT5).
    Warm regards,
    M.J. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2005
  16. xike

    xike Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Anyone has any thought on this, does avp 3.5, kaspersky 4.5 and kaspersky 5.0 has the same detection rate?

    Since someone is argueing kaspersky 4.5 and kaspersky 5.0 use the same database, should have same detection rate. In elaborating to this, avp 3.5 also use the SAME database as kaspersky 4.5 and kaspersky 5.0, could the assumption be made that avp 3.5 is also has the SAME detection rate?

    Personally I think 3.5, 4.5 and 5.0 are differ in term of handling virus laden file, for instance, avp 3.5 cannot delete archieve directly, has to delete the archieve manually, kaspersky 4.5 can delete WHOLE archieve directly if this is enable, and kaspersky 5.0 can directly delete the individual virus file inside archieve directly without deleting the WHOLE archieve......In term of virus detection rate, in my opinion, avp 3.5 , kaspersky 4.5, 5.0 should be more or less somewhat the same since all of them use the same database.
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It is possible that the old AVP 3.x would not be able to execute the removal and repair procedure for some (newer) malware as the sigs are now made keeping KAV 4.x and above in mind.....
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Some differences between AVP 3.5 and KAV 5 are reported here.
    It is still more capable in detection rates than most of the present other AV programs available and with its 1 running process only taking up 2 MB memory it is ideal for the older computer. But within the KAV line it is better now, IMO, to switch to the newer versions for reasons outlined above.

    You would be surprised how light KAV 5 is as a RTM and the KAV 2006 also looks very promising in this regards. IME, AVP 3.5 runs slightly heavier on system performance, despite the much lower memory footprint than KAV 5/2006.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2005
  19. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    I use F-Secure Anti Virus Client Security 6 and here's the text pertaining to Scan Engine versions as found in the scan report :

    Scanning Engines:

    F-Secure AVP: 6.00.169, 2005-10-15
    F-Secure Libra: 2.03.07, 2005-10-14
    F-Secure Orion: 1.02.37, 2005-10-13
    F-Secure Draco: 1.00.35, 2005-10-12
     
  20. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,514
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Correct me if I'm wrong: Draco = Lavasoft Ad-Aware?:doubt:
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,183
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Draco=F-Secure's implementation of the Ad-Aware engine.

    You are correct ;)
     
  22. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    When I trialled their Internet Security product sometime ago, I was surprised to find the adware scanning component of that program looking and running like Lavasoft's Ad-Aware. It looked like a re-branded Ad-Aware.
     
  23. big4guy

    big4guy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Guys,

    I think firecat is right in saying that F-Secure uses KAV 6.6. I have done some research and conculded the same.

    Regards
    big4guy

    http://www.big4guy.com
     
  24. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    This excerpt from my post above says the same :D

    Scanning Engines:

    F-Secure AVP: 6.00.169, 2005-10-15


    ^^ This does say its version 6.00.169 of KAV's AVP engine, doesnt it?
     
  25. frico

    frico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I also had a look at KAV. Not bad at all but I'm using F-Secure AVCS. KAV uses less memory but it's not faster than F-Secure. As long as the speed is OK I don't care about memory usage.

    Another thing is that I got a 1-year F-Secure AVCS license from my Uni for 10 (ten!) Euro. That's the price to beat for any other AV :D.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.