Is there an easy way to turn HOSTS off?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bellgamin, Mar 18, 2020.

  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,876
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I use HOSTS file as an ad blocker. However, there are times (rarely) when I want HOSTS file out of the loop when web surfing. Is there an easy way to turn HOSTS on and off?
     
  2. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Dubai
    Yes, use an adblocker then turn it on/off as you please or turn it off for specific sites that don't work well with adblockers.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,876
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @Spartan -- Thanks for the comment. I have tried several ad blockers. I prefer to use a modified MVPS HOSTS file.
     
  4. A_mouse

    A_mouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    A field
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,876
    Location:
    Hawaii
  6. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    386
    It is an excellent program... click once on the H logo to toggle hosts off and on.
     
  7. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    837
    Hostsman last updated 2017...
     
  8. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,083
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Move (cut and paste) file or rename it?
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,492
    Location:
    USA
    You could use an ad blocker... and go to:
    https://filterlists.com/
    MVPS Hosts (Domains) is currently on page 119. I assume it is the same list you could use through an ad blocker. Enabling or disabling the ad blocker or this list would probably be easier than switching out the HOSTS file.
     
  10. A_mouse

    A_mouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    A field
    It's job has not changed or got any harder.
    1 of the sources has changed and does not work anymore, but that is not a bug in Hostsman.

    You can add any standard blocklists to it and create your own curated blocklist.
    Here is my current selection.
    hostman.jpg

    The advantage of using HOSTS blocking is broader security improvement.
    You web browsers are not the only things that use the internet, just the ones you look at.

    If you block access to known malware and tracking sites at a network level, then standalone software and malware will also be blocked.
    If you want to block all the Windows 10 trackers you are wasting your time doing it in the browser.
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,876
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks to all. Hostsman is working flawlessly. Very easy to use.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.