Is there a way ti install FD-ISR on pc that came with Windows 7

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by trjam, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have read all the threads and with at least what little I can understand, there isnt. Am I wrong, thanks.
     
  2. colokie

    colokie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having the same problem ... new machine with Win7 (64 bit) preinstalled ... wanting DESPARATELY to be able to use FS-ISR!! HELP!!!!!
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    yes very simple I assume 64 bit is the same as 32

    Take a Vista recovery disk boot to a command prompt and replace the MBR


    bootsect /nt60 c:\

    reboot into windows 7 ....... FD should now install


    may also find these useful
    bootrec fixmbr
    bootrec fixboot
     
  4. colokie

    colokie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you Starfish_001!!!!!
    I'll try it!
     
  5. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    141
    Or...Alternatively, while W7 is running, insert Vista SP1 DVD and right click on the "Command Prompt" shortcut located in "Start>All Programs>Accessories" and select "Run as administrator".

    Change to DVD drive letter and then change to "BOOT" folder located on Vista SP1 DVD by typing the following.

    DVDDriveLetter: <enter>

    cd \boot <enter>

    Then execute "bootsect /nt60 c:" and your free to install FD-ISR. :D

    You may find this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=233932 useful.
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a way to install on WIN7 from a cd of the .exe file I used to install on XP?
     
  7. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    141
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Hi Carfal

    I downloaded that file. Do I have to run it from a bootable CD, or can I run it from within Win 7

    Pete
     
  10. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    I also did and asking the very same...

    Is it ok to run cmd as admin in an already installed win7 ult and where FDISR never been installed and type:
    [directory where bootsect.exe is extracted]:\boot\Bootsect.exe /NT60 [system_drive]
    [system_drive]= the drive letter of your windows partition

    and after this install FD-ISR before reboot ? Will this work ?
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    like Peter, I downloaded the file. Can someone post the step by step instructions in stupid english so a idiot like me can do it.
     
  12. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Peter

    in this thread
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=233932&page=3
    (post 64) I asked Pandlouk
    I would like to ask again Pandlouk and houaus (post 66 there)
    1. Are you still using Win7 with FD-ISR since then. If positive, is the system working smooth?
    2. Have you installed it using Win7- 32 or -64
    3. can you elaborate again in this thread how to install FD-ISR in Win 7

    thanks for assistance.
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    1. Yes, no problems so far.
    2. Both
    3. I'll start a new thread so that all the information of the various scenarious (clean install, upgrade install, and new pc with 7 preinstalled are covered).

    Panagiotis
     
  14. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    THANK YOU!! :thumb:

    Acadia
     
  15. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Hi Pandlouk

    You are GREAT

    I knew you will do it to assist us

    Thanks in advance :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not me, impatient. Will keep FD-ISR on computers with Vista and bought FD-R for the Windows 7 one. To me it doesnt matter as I had gotten to where I used FD-ISR more like FD-R.

    FD-R is nice. I have a ton of trust in Todd, Mitch and Leapfrog.
     
  17. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    You are welcome.
    Guys do you know anyone that can help to create a batch file?

    Here is what I want to achieve:
    1. create an elevated command prompt so that users won't have to use the run as admin
    2.Run the files from the directory where the batch resides
    3.Identify if the OS is 32 bit or 64 bit
    4.If the OS is 32-bit then should execute
    If the OS is 64-bit then should execute

    This way it will be easy for everyone to install it, but I'm not good at all with creating batch files... :p

    thanks,
    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Lol, if I could do that, I wouldnt have to be a fanboy. But thank you.:thumb:
     
  19. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    Steps 1,2,3 are fine
    The problem is the 4th and I cannot get it to work properly.

    Panagioti
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Hi Panagioti

    Will this also cover XP PRo

    Pete
     
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If I could read that, I'd try it. Don't you have a solution that says click to install? :D :D
     
  22. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    Hi Pete,

    My initial intention was to make a bat which will cover all the bootsector combinations. It would be handy if during an uninstall FD-ISR did not revert correctly the bootsector...

    But since I cannot make it to work, I'll use an alternative method for novices. I'll creates 2 rar.sfxs (1 for 32-bit and 1 for 64-bit) that will update the 7 bootsector with the Vistabootsector.

    It will be as simple as:
    1. Run the rar.exe (and accept the uac prompt)
    2. Install FD-ISR.
    :D :D :D

    Now it's getting late here so I'll make the guide and upload the 2 exes tomorrow.

    Panagiotis
     
  23. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,572
    Yes I do, check the above post. :D ;)

    Panagiotis
     
  24. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Pandlouk, I'll need to know what rar.exe is. I am not a techie as you can see. I will be upgrading to a new computer with WIN7 installed later, and I can't bare to lose my FD-ISR. :p
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Thanks Panagiotis

    My question about XP was a duh moment. What I meant t ask was using it directly with a Win7 install.

    Also to help you figure out how best to do it, when you are started, I will make the thread a sticky, so once for all it's there.

    Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.