is there a software that can comunicate/work with an ups?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, May 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    Hi

    is there a software that can work with an ups

    i noticed that i can use an usb cable, the software tell me only the battery status or setup it

    i would like to perform an action in case of power loss ,when the ups start to alimentate my pc

    is there a software that let me do it?

    thanks
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    It depends on UPS manufacturer. I use APC and they have software for that purpose. If you connect UPS with usb, Windows will recognize it as battery and you can configure it in Power options also, without 3rd party software.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    yes but shut down the pc or application in case of lost of power , for example after 5 minutes
    i can't do it with windows
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    You can set an option what to do when battery level reaches certain level. You can set it to go to sleep or to shut down computer. You can't set it to close some apps, though.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    do you mean a schedule rule?
    can you do please an example or a screenshot?
    i would appreciate it a lot
    thanks
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,569
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    No, I meant Control Panel - Change plan settings - Change advanced power settings - Battery - Critical battery action:

    upload_2014-5-13_18-35-42.png

    You can also set Critical battery level in % of battery left before critical battery action is initiated.
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,569
    Yes, for several years now and on various upses

    Panagiotis
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi thanks Hqsec
    i have not such option in w7
    i mean i have't battery
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    When you connected UPS to computer (using USB cable) did Windows install new device? Check your device manager to see if you have it installed:

    upload_2014-5-13_18-55-10.png

    If not, you will probably have to install drivers manually.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    thanks
    yes , there is a cd , but i did not install it , i will do it and replay , thanks again
     
  13. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Sadly it doesnt work on APC UPSes according to the supported list.
    Doesnt detect my APC on the usb although it is present in devmgr.
     
  14. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,569
    For apc the best free utility is "Apcupsd UPS control software".

    Panagiotis
     
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    thanks pal
    is there a list about supported ups?
    what are the apc?
     
  16. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Do you always have to set up the" apcupsd " software?
    I am wondering how long the configuration would take as its all in a text file it leaves me a little uncomfortable.

    Mine is the APC back ups pro 900 and i have a commlost as status.
     
  17. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    To answer my own question:
    Not too long it was manually adding a driver to windows.

    Main advantage for this software is the low cpu usage up to 1% on a 400mhz system while the offical software can take up to 30%. (according to the docs)
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
  19. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    One way to find out mantra would be to search for replacement batterries for that ups.

    I bought the expensive apc as they are the most popular (easy battery replacement) and it is easy to swap out batteries when they die in 3years or so.
    My old belkin was a swap once due to me needing to bend a metal cage to get the old battery out :(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.