is there a good vista FW yet? i can't use vista until i find one!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by iceni60, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, i really need a FW for vista. i've completely stopped using it because i can't block all the connections made to MS that i see in the logs, it's mainly when programs crash and somekind of report is sent.

    i tried something with a name like the vista FW service, but it didn't install properly and i just get an error when it tries to load. (i'm starting to think i need to do a reinstall because i generally get 3/4 errors at each boot!)

    so, can anyone recommend a good FW? i want a rules based and free one. i think there's one by LooknStop, is that the only option? and is it good with vista? thanks.
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    LnS is shareware. I think that Zone Alarm has a Vista version.
     
  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i thought there was a free version of LooknStop. i tried ZA a few years a go and it was really resource hungry, but if that's the only option i might have to try it out. thanks.
     
  4. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi iceni60 :)

    Unfortunatly there is no free version of LnS but there is a "clone" version of LnS: free PC Tools firewall.

    http://www.pctools.com/firewall/

    Claims to be :

    "Designed for Windows® Vista™ 32-bit, XP, 2000 and Server 2003."

    But since is based on the LnS code (as far as I know) there is some limitations I supposed...

    Check this thread about the most recent LnS version and Vista:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=175766

    :)
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, iceni60


    I am using the new LnS x64 beta version with no running problems, it not free but so very nearly free when you look at the cost on the Order Page. :eek:

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hi.

    Isn't there an option to not send the error reports to MS?
    I would stop and disable "Windows error reporting service" in Vista. It has no dependencies or requirements. But that's just me. That would also stop generation of logs for errors, so if you don't like the idea I believe the only alternative which suits all your needs from the first post (rule based/free) is PCTools firewall.

    Regards,
     
  7. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    The built in firewall can be set up to block all connections that are not authorized by a rule, although it has default rules for basic networking. It is not easy to set up, especially because it blocks outbound connections silently. You could use something else like PC Tools for a week to get an idea of what programs you need to make rules for.

    Some have taken the approach of blocking communications with Microsoft by making entries in the hosts file. There was a piece on keznews.com if you have never been there.
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks for the help everyone. i suppose i'll try out the pctools FW. i really want to start using windows again, i quite like windows security and all the freeware too.

    my install is already really unstable and i've only used it for about one week in all :eek: i don't have a windows disc either, only restore discs i made and they have loads of rubbish on so i can't use them. i'm not sure what to do, but maybe i'll start another thread about that!

    i looked at tweaking the builtin FW but it looks really horrible to setup, i might just wait 6 months and hope a nice FW is out by then and there should be more vista setup guides i can follow too, i have no clue what's going on with it lol
     
  9. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    It won't take 6 months. Comodo 3 should be ready before that, and it is probably the most promising thing out there. It even has 64 bit support.
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    If this is based on LnS code, why is it almost 5MB in size? Isn't LnS around 500kb?
     
  11. nhamilton

    nhamilton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    61
    Other then it was originally based on LnS, PCTools has made a lot of changes and improvements. There has been a lot done to make the User interface more attractive and user friendly, a complete separation of the UI from the service.
     
  12. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi zapjb :)

    :eek: So much ? Hmmmm... no idea. :doubt:

    EDIT:

    Nhamilton give you the reason I guess.

    I don't agree with "more user friendly" but it's only my opinion.
    The GUI and service separation is a planed improvment for next LnS release.



    :)
     
  13. nhamilton

    nhamilton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    61
    I do like v3 of the pctools firewall. I guess there is always to make it better. How do you think they could make it more user friendly?
     
  14. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There was/is a free (lite) version. But this does not have application filtering (and is not vista compatible) Info/ Download
     
  15. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, zapjb

    May it come with the support languages as a integrated language pack. :doubt:

    Supports the following languages - English (US), English British, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Korean, Japanese, German, Dutch, Russian, Polish, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Portuguese Brazilian and French.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    What about a simple ap, Vista Firewall Control 1.1?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Overkill
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    722
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.