Is there a Firefox windows 7 version for 64 bit machines

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Escalader, Nov 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Went on their site and it was unclear, they seemed to say it works but as 32 bit application.

    So if that's the case does anybody KNOW if they are working on 64 bit version?

    My new machine will come no doubt with IE 8 and I'm not sure that is designed to exploit 64 bit.

    Just trying to know in advance and stay ahead of the curve.
     
  2. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Yes, the x32 version works in x64.

    Win 7 x64 has both IEx32 and IEx64. The thing is that for NOW, the use of IEx64 is limited mainly by the fact that there is no x64 flash released yet. So, you ll end up using x32 browser for now anyway.

    On the other hand, there is x64 Java RE ready out there.

    A similar situation exists if you intend to use WMP for video reproduction. It has both WMPx32 and x64. For now, most x64 codecs are not very mature, it's better to stick with x32.
     
  3. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
    There's no Flash for x64 browsers. Flash only works in 32-bit browsers. So even though IE8 and Firefox comes in 64-bit versions they are useless. So: you'll need to install a 32-bit browser on your 64-bit OS and run that until Adobe gets it's act together.
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Fuzz:

    Thanks for the heads up. I'm not surprised at all as I view this 64 bit machine as "experimental" at first till I get the hang of it I'll drive it as it came for a while. I want to avoid assuming that I need this and that piece of software until I know what it can do as it came. Example is encryption this version of W7 is ultimate so it is supposed to do that as is and I won't need a specialized piece of SW for that.
     
  5. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Thanks for the insight. As I said to Fuzz I see this 64 bit PC as experimental so I'll try out IE8 minus flash and see what it can do! I will want to come here for example, are you saying I can't do that? :doubt:
     
  6. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
    Well, yes you can but flash content wont show. The good news is that Adobe is working on a beta that's out for a preliminary testing. It still chrashes a lot I read somewhere. You can apply to become a beta tester but I can't find the link.
     
  7. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    There is Minefield, which is Firefox x64.

    http://wiki.mozilla-x86-64.com/Download

    But as mentioned above, no x64 flash for Win yet. Just linux.
     
  9. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    That's just a site with 64bit builds of Firefox. Minefield isn't 64bit
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,966
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The system requirements listed for Firefox 3.5.5 do not even include Win 7 as a supported system.
     
  12. chronomatic

    chronomatic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,343
    Interestingly, there is a 64 bit flash for Linux and has been for a while. It's unusual to see Linux get priority over Windoze, but for some reason it has this time.
     
  13. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Yes, experimental is the right attitude. Depending on your software list, you will in general find that some software won't run or run stable in x64, specially if you come directly from XP. I had several programs like that and when you move to x64 at first is "trie and see" until you end up with a list of "tested" software. Also game "no-cd" patches which contain 16bit executable won't run in x64, so you have to use the CD/DVD every time. This sucks. Happened to me already. I also have a game which is quite old now and it won't install at all.
     
  14. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yes that's irritation! My scanner and printer all need new drivers!

    My thought is okay there is no real issue here for me anyway.

    I'm running along with my mature xp sp3 on the router everything works.

    So I'm leaving that as my "production" machine.

    Then this new puppy joins the pack and will "share" the router. He is W7x64. I'm not trying the upgrade game at all xp to W7 as it's a reinstall anyway so I'll pass thanks very much.

    If FF 64 won't run on the W7 machine I'll just set FF aside til it does.

    Linux first eh! Maybe I should have..... never mind that's OT!
     
  15. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Firefox x64 runs fine on Win 7 x64. The real issue is lack of flash.... For me that's the show stopper in Win. I stick to the x32 browsers for this reason.
     
  16. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yes, thanks I hear you!

    What about IE8 MS's own browser does it suffer the lack of flash as well?
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Hi Escalader,

    Yes, there is simply no flash x64 whatsoever for Windows. So any Win x64 browser, including IE, will be lacking flash. There is an alpha flash for Linux, but that's about it unfortunately...
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  18. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Kerodo:

    Okay, so be it. A year from now the answer may be different!
     
  19. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Yep, let's hope so! :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.