Is SpywareBlaster necessary?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by omegakilo, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. omegakilo

    omegakilo Guest

    Hi,
    I'm already running NOD32 and SUPERAntiSpyware as a real-time protection.
    And I am also using Opera as my main browser.
    And I just want to know if running SpywareBlaster is necessary.
    Does it really give a better protection than not having it?
    Thanks in advance, and have a nice day guys :)
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Well, it depends on your security strategy. But remember that SWB doesn't use resources to do its job. I like to lock IE (which is the biggest hole in Windows) so I use SWB and IE SPY-AD.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
  3. Green Giant

    Green Giant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    252
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Yes, now you download a .txt file and use ZonedOut to import it in the registry.
     
  5. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I think so.
    It's easy to use and doesn't run as a service so it won't hurt to have it even if you are running Opera.
     
  6. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Well considering the word "necessary"... the answer is no. An AV isn't really necessary either. Neither is a HIPS, or Anti spyware protection. The only thing I'd really consider "necessary" is a firewall. Everything else is optional.

    Since it's free, it doesn't use any resources, and provides protection... why not use it?
     
  7. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    I installed SWB and watched for two months, but not found very useful.

    Compare to it, SAS is better and superior too.
     
  8. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Think of Spyware Blaster as an extra layer of hardening windows. It doesn't hurt to install it nor to fully enable it. I always install it in all computers I work on.

    dja2k
     
  9. Thanasis159

    Thanasis159 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    I agree with dja2k! Spyware Blaster shouldn't be used as a stand-alone antispyware in your pc! It only prevents, with success I think, some spyware from getting in your system but It doesn't remove them if they pass its security. It is free, doesn't use ANY resources and it is an extra layer of defense!
     
  10. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I was going to write the same - so all I can do is agree. I have a hardware firewall and nothing else running real time.
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Maybe it helps if you frequently use IE, but Ive stopped using it a long time ago.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.