Is server u7.eset still offline?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jayt, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Have update set to automatic. Does it only attempt to connect to server u.7.eset?

    Time Module Event User
    10/31/2005 12:36:35 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/31/2005 6:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 23:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 16:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 10:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 9:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 3:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/30/2005 2:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/29/2005 20:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/29/2005 19:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/29/2005 13:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/29/2005 12:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/29/2005 6:09:45 AM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
    10/28/2005 23:09:45 PM Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I think it's random if it connects to u7 or u3 etc.
    And it's still offline yeah.

    If you want you can check the status on all the servers here. Easier than pinging them yourself :)
     
  3. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks Brian N. I appreciate the link.
     
  4. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    According to this: http://ip2.users.whitehat.dk/server_status.php

    Server u7.eset.com has been offline for days, at least whenever I check it. When I check my error logs, it says error connecting to u7. I have it set up to automatically check for updates & choose server automatically, I thought it was supposed to scroll through the servers until it found one that works? For some reason, it always seems to check u7 (which is always down) and not check any of the others.
     
  5. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Same problem here and I wonder if it is possible to exclude the u7 server from the list of servers, in order to get rid of the error messages.

    ;) Putin
     
  6. Egg beta

    Egg beta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    After reading this thread I find it strange that I've been getting no error messages at all, despite the frequent attempts that NOD32 makes at trying to connect to u7.

    :doubt:
     
  7. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    The error messages appear in the system log screen on the right hand side:

    Tijd Module Taak Gebruiker
    3-11-2005 15:13:27 Update Fout bij verbinding maken met server u7.eset.com.

    This happens to be in Dutch, but it should look the same! The line starts with a red exclamation mark.

    If this does not appear in your screen, there must be some configuration difference maybe.

    ;) Putin
     
  8. Egg beta

    Egg beta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply, putin. I assume you're referring to the event log, but yeah I knew about that. No error messages listed except for a couple last night when my connection went down whilst I was in mid-update.

    02/11/05 21:10:14 Update Error connecting to server 82.165.237.14.
    02/11/05 21:08:49 Update Update attempt failed (Download interrupted.)
     
  9. Egg beta

    Egg beta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Oh wow! I tell a lie. I got one.

    27/10/05 11:33:07 Update Error connecting to server u7.eset.com.

    :D
     
  10. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    That's the one.......and I still wonder if u7 can't be excluded from the server list. Does anyone know how to deal with that?

    Putin
     
  11. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Good question. Another question is why they can't seem to fix u7? It's constantly down. Fix it or get rid of it.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It checks the others. The server is listed in the event log only when there is an error. If the others weren't checked that would mean you haven't had any virus updates since u7 was taken off line for maintenance.
     
  13. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Is there a way to disable or delete U7 from the server list, so we don't get these error messages all the time?

    ;) Putin
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I personally would not do it even if I knew how, which I don't. As I don't look at the event log all that much. But even if I did check it frequently I would view it as no big deal, besides it can't be much longer surely.:D
     
  15. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Well then, it must check server u7 first, otherwise there would be no reason to check it. U7 is the 5th one in the list. I thought it would start out with the first one in the list an go from there. It doesn't appear to be random either because of the frequency of the u7 errors.
     
  16. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    When you push the update button manually, U7 appears as the first server and gives an error message, as it is off-line.

    Is nobody out here able to tell me how to temporarily disable U7 server? Or temporarily delete U7 server from the list? I'm not reading these error messages all day, but if you can avoid such logging, I would appreciate that.
    I have mailed the Dutch Support, but as usual.......no reply!

    ;) Putin
     
  17. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Just received a reply from support and they suggested to look in de register for: u7.eset.com and there you can delete this key:

    defaultserver4 http://u7.eset.com/nod_upd/

    Beware !!!!!! Only do this when you know what you are doing, it's risky to tamper with the registry. Make sure to make a backup of the register, before doing this!!!!

    Whenever the server is online again, just add this key again. It just stops the error messages for now!

    ;) Putin
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Do not intervene in registry settings, or you might mess it up to such an extent that further updates won't be downloaded.
     
  19. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Ok, but is there another way to exclude server U7 from checking and not getting error messages?

    ;) Putin
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    What version are you running? Because u7 doesn't show up in my server list.
     
  21. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    It has been magically removed by the latest update I see [1.1276].
    It's all good though, no more errors from that one :)
     
  22. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Well i just went through a minor bit of hell...

    Just renewed my license, tried to update and after going through half the servers(failed or interrupted downloads) finally was able to complete it(u3.eset.com)....

    A good half an hour trying to get those 4mbs...



    snowbound
     
  23. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Version 2.50.45 Dutch and it just updated to 1.1276 and u7 is no longer on the server list.....!!!!!!
    Someone did some magic indeed!
    All fixed, all happy .....:D

    ;) Putin
     
  24. billaku

    billaku Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Texas Central Coast, US
    Magic --- OR --- applied some Logic?

    Logical to remove, as other's requested, suggested, if non-functiong, until functioning again.

    Updates *very* much more 'snappy' now.

    Much thanks Eset!
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    When will u7 server be back on line?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.