is pointstone system cleaner 7 safe to use?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by taleblou, Mar 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smartins

    smartins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Portugal
    Bruce,

    Our debug mode was added to find specific issues that we could not reproduce on our test machines. If we were to save all results found on the debug file, we would be looking at going through thousands of records instead of just the data we were interested.

    How you imply that because there isn't a debug mode for the scan results this may be a rogue product is beyond me. Do System Mechanic, TuneUp Utilities, Advanced System Care or Glary Utilities have debug modes? If they do, they are not readily available. So in your view, these must be rogue products.

    System Cleaner also saves a backup of all the changes made to the system and allows to easily revert these changes. We also have a detailed results view, which shows in detail each entry found. Novice users will probably use the default results view, advanced users can check the "Show Details" checkbox to see more details of the issues.

    We appreciate all the feedback you guys have been given. All suggestions and comments will be analyzed and added to our roadmap for inclusion in the product in upcoming releases.
     
  2. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Just for the heck of it I downloaded and installed CCleaner. I was able to do a scan, highlight the results and then save a scan log WITHOUT needing to actually make any system modifications.

    Backup and restore is meaningless when a system cannot boot and the user has the right to research what is going to happen BEFORE they click the "go" button.

    Our software is the same. If someone wants to scan for malware and then ask an expert online first before they remove anything or look it up on google they have an easy way to do so.

    I don't really care what your opinion is. I will never use or recommend any product that denies the user the ability to easily research what system changes are about to take place, that is their right.
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,360
    I tested the new version and most - not all of the false positives have been fixed. However I need to run this on a few different machines before I can get an accurate opinion. Until I do so, in my opinion it is still best not to use the registry.

    Also, none of the other issues I reported have been fixed.
     
  4. smartins

    smartins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Portugal
    Bruce,

    Since it was you who first voiced your opinion, I responded with mine. If you do not care about my opinion, then you should not have posted your reply on a public forum.

    Our software does not have a way to export results simply because our users do not need such feature. Our target audience are average computer users, not security experts like yourself.
     
  5. smartins

    smartins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Portugal
    Roger,

    I replied to your ticket indicating why one of the false positives was not fixed, since with the data we have, what you sent and the information from MSDN, it does not seem to be a false positive.

    Also, regarding the other issues you reported, I asked if you could send the Startup Manager entries being identified as not existing so that we take a look.

    As for the other two suggestions, they will be implemented soon on an upcoming release.

    I also offered a free license key as a token of our appreciation on your feedback.
     
  6. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I was lucky enough to get a key for this on FaceBook, I'm pleased with its performance:)

    I always back up the registry (tweaking.com\ reg backup) and create a restore point before using apps like these anyway.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,360
    Thanks for the reply, I'll check the entries again.

    Thanks for that :)
     
  8. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    So is it good and safe to use? what makes it different thatn the others on the market?
     
  9. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    609
    Location:
    usa
    This morning, I ran System Cleaner 7 on my Windows 8 computer.
    It found three issues and repaired them. Then, I clicked on "Done", I got the main window saying, "Attention, System Scan Recommended".

    SystemCleaner.PNG

    I clicked on Analyze System and got the following message:

    SystemCleaner_2.PNG

    I clicked on "OK" on the Integrator pop-up and "Repair Selected".

    SystemCleaner_4.PNG

    Next, I clicked on "Done" and got back to the same error window:

    SystemCleaner_2.PNG
     
  10. Steven Avery

    Steven Avery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    Hi,

    Well spoken. One reason I really like Malwarebytes and a couple of other malware scan programs.

    Also the CCleaner registry cleaner, where you can do one type of "error" at a time and check whatever you want, is the only type of semi-automated reg cleaner I consider bothering with.

    (Although for fun I went in with RegMagik to scan and then remove some entries of programs recently deleted, when I had changed security programs after an image reinstall. It brings up all the entries, with e.g. "Avira" in one block.)

    Steven
     
  11. kyuzo

    kyuzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    USA
    zmechys:

    I've been trying out System Cleaner 7 to see whether I prefer it to my old favorite, WinUtilities. I too got a similar result after my "problems" had been rectified. My SC7 also continually displays its dial needle in the red, even after all the "problems" had been taken care of (I had but a few registry errors, no junk files and one security issue- turning off remote assistance). I figured it out- as long as there were registry keys that the program couldn't "fix" the needle stays in the red and the program prompts for a scan. I've uninstalled and may install again, but I'm not sure...

    SC7 did seem like a reasonably good program, but that recurring "scan necessary" screen was quite the irritation. I do commend smartins for attempting to help!

    Hope you get your problems rectified! Good Luck.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  12. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    609
    Location:
    usa
    SuperAntiSpyware recognized System Cleaner 7 Helper.exe as malware.

    SuperAntiSpy_SystemCleaner.JPG
     
  13. smartins

    smartins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Portugal
    This is a false positive. Take a look at the VirusScan results:

    ~ VirusTotal Results Removed per Policy ~

    Regarding the other issues you guys reported, one has been fixed already and will be available in an upcoming version and the other is being looked at.

    Thanks again for all the feedback.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.