is Paragon Go Virtual any good?

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by taleblou, Aug 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    Hi:

    I just heard about the free "Paragon Go Virtual" and was wondering if it is any good and does this virtual software protect against malware like virtual machines or returnil, shadow defender, etc.. Does it protect against TDSS rootkits and so on. ANyone tried it or knows how good it is? Thanks in advance for your reply.

    link: http://www.paragon-software.com/home/go-virtual/
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Yes, it is very good.

    Not sure what you mean about protecting against malware.

    A backup image of any type means you can restore a clean backup after a malware attack - but it doesn't protect against them - -you need an antimalware app. for that.
     
  3. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    I installed this tried to use it in a VM error code: no Operating system Found.
     
  4. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
    This application is a tool to create virtual disks of a partitions that you want to use in a virtual machine such as VMware, VirtualBox, Windows
    Virtual PC, etc. It is not software for creating virtual machines.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  5. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
    Be sure the selected partition is set active when creating the virtual disk, otherwise it may not boot. At least that has been my experience when using P2V.
     
  6. akhran

    akhran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I have the error "No Windows OS found. Please select at least one volume with installed OS.". The machine it is running on is a Win7 Enterprise 64bit.

    Hopefully someone can shed some light on this.

     
  7. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    Most Confusing. There are 3 partitions on my W7x64. A Restore Partition, a small 100 mb partition which is active & the one with my OS. I take it I must copy both the 100 mb partition & the one with the actual operating System. Setting the wrong partition to active will undoubtedly cause the computer to not boot at all I suspect.
     
  8. akhran

    akhran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same configuration; 100mb active hidden partition, 20GB boot partition with Win7 installed (C: drive) and the remaining 100GB (D: drive) as data partition.

    All the partitions were selected but Paragon Go Virtual does not detect any OS installed.

    Any advice please?

    Thanks.


     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Hmmm, if I am understanding correctly what I am reading at the Paragon website, how is Paragon getting around the Microsoft copyright problems with this program?

    Acadia
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.