Is Panda/Malwarebytes/VoodooShield Too Much?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by redmed, Jul 5, 2018.

  1. redmed

    redmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    I have been running Panda Free & Malwarebytes Free on a Windows 7 laptop that I basically only run Windows Media Center for the past few years without a problem. Since this laptop runs 24/7 I recently decided to also store a data file that other computers on my network can access. Because of the information in the data file I decided to upgrade the security to Panda Dome Free & Malwarebytes Premium & VoodooShield. The laptop froze right after I added Voodooshield. I think is was because I ran VoodooShield in Autopilot mode right at the get go without allowing it to learn what programs I'm using. I ran VoodooShield in training mode for a few hours as I ran everything I normally use. I now have VoodooShield in Smart mode for a day without any problems, but have noticed a couple times things seem to run a little slower. It might just be that I'm watching it too close looking for problems. Is running Panda Dome Free & Malwarebytes Premium & VoodooShield together redundant?
     
  2. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    Malwarebytes premium is excessive. I recommend to use it as an on demand scanner only.
     
  3. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    513
    Location:
    Hungary
    Voodooshield makes the other 2 obsolete in this config
    you get unacceptably slow signatures and no firewall in panda dome free
    you get a subpar malware and decent PUP signature database with malwarebytes
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018
  4. redmed

    redmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Got rid of Voodooshield. On a reboot of one of my computers it messed up the network settings I had for 6 computers that took me a few hours to correct. I had trained Voodooshield but forgot training the restart. Voodoshield is just a duplication of Windows UAC anyway.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have to disagree with you on this one. I have been using VoodooShield since the beginning and have not seen any issues with my network settings because of VSo_O
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,102
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Too much? In my opinion, NO! All three programs do things differently, and as far as I know these programs are compatible. If you have the processor power to handle it (almost everyone does these days) then go for it. Most of our processor power sits there doing nothing anyways. And what better reason to use all that sleeping processor power than using it for another layer of security.
     
  7. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    742
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I was glad to see your post, redmed. I feel the same way about VS. I have UAC at high level and feel that is just as good as VS and it hasn't messed up my pc like VS has a couple times. There seems to be so much changing going on with VS that I couldn't keep up with it. Plus they seem to keep moving the support site around regularly.
     
  8. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    513
    Location:
    Hungary
    you can't be more wrong
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,890
    Location:
    localhost
    The same :thumb:
     
  10. redmed

    redmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Have you used VoodooShield on a W7 32bit system? I got my W7 system to work fine until I tried to reboot it and then I had a hell of a time getting back into the W7 system. This somehow messed up my network settings I had working seamlessly for years. The other W10 64bit systems did not lockup so tight on reboots but I did have problems I had to fix. So it seems that VoodooShield likes W10 better than W7. I don't have time to duplicate what I have already with UAC, unless you can convince me VoodooShield would be a worthwhile improvement.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.