is MSE moreso malware portection?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by winterlord, Oct 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. winterlord

    winterlord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    175
    hello, i was wondering cause i have prevx now and outpost firewall, and was wondering cause i have MSE , so i have all the malware protection i need but does MSE keep me safe from just reguler viruses
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    MSE provides protection against all malware including viruses, rogues and exploits.
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Using MSE and Outpost only, have managed to block 2 infections this month, from Limewire & Facebook...so yes, MSE does appear to guard the whole spectrum of malware.
     
  4. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I use MSE now.MSE succeeded in healing a infected file instead of deleting yesterday,what a wonderful job:D .
     
  5. winterlord

    winterlord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    175
    ok thanks
     
  6. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    479
    LOL!

    Sorry I couldn't help this...
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yep, it is turning out to be a pretty amazing product. Just something about free AVs and how they have now risen in how they are percieved thanks to MSE and Avast 5.
     
  8. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Sorry, I should have elaborated.

    Virus from FB, Trojan from LW. Not just an AV, but an AM...
     
  9. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Please people, don't speak so well of it! Some people may become yellow and have to do some independent test to prove you wrong!


    BTW, i found out that one can actually "opt out" (aka disable) Spynet. Just to let know anyone who is interested. (use google, i am sure the TOS here forbids to say more).
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Why would you want to do that? I set it to advanced on all machines. Depriving MS of information for improving the product you're using? Yeah, that sounds like a smart idea!
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    some people don't like such cloud like services.
     
  12. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Because between depriving poor MS's chances to improve her product and depriving me from chances to improve my privacy, i prefer the first one. I know, how will MS find the money to improve her product without me giving her access to all my files and data... Well, it will be tough, but MS may survive.

    As for me having to live with increased risk of infection, yes, i guess, i like living dangerously. :D I will have to rely to the fact that i haven't seen live malware executing without my will (for testing) for some years now and to TF and some backup scanners. Also i 'd rather keep my upload bandwidth for other, more useful for me purposes rather than uploading stuff to MS whenever a program decides it's time to.

    You know how it is. The world is big, weird people exist, not all think at the same way.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
  13. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    Yeah.. I hear that MS employees 50k people in India just to sift through every bodies files that they get via MSE. :rolleyes:
     
  14. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    If you don't want to be part of Spynet, then don't use MSE. Simple as that.

    There are other free products too you know.
     
  15. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I bet you wouldn't have problem if MS would put a keylogger into your pc, as long as the data is collected en masse , so nobody would care about you. Whatever, you 're accustomed to patriot acts and the likes.



    I actually use Avast. But i could actually use MSE while disabling Spynet. Simple as that too, isn't it? You know, like people who want to use Avira or AVG but don't want the nag screens? Instead of not using them, they disable the thing that annoys them.

    Just to make myself clear. I am not saying to you or forcing anyone not to use Spynet. I said to anyone interested, that there is way to block it.

    You may , as anyone else, continue using it with Spynet, without having to make MS' advocate.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.