Is it safe...

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by DX2, Aug 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    To run Prevx without a AV? I've seen somewhere that you can I believe. I'm just try to get rid of a lot of stuff and run lighter.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it's true as I do and I know some others that do also! And Prevx with SafeOnline is a Total Anti-Malware! http://www.prevx.com/certification.asp

    HTH,

    TH
     
  3. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Some people do that and just use an AV like Hitman Pro or Malware Bytes for occasional scans (no real time protection from the AV). There is the PRevx "clean up" guarantee so I'm sure its ok.

    Prevx is designed to run alongside an AV. You could just try a "light" one like MSE if you are worried about loading on your system.
     
  4. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Hi,
    I have been using prevx for quite sometime now and have never felt unsecured. I have SAS just in case if something manages to unlock my already locked hosts file and try to mess with my internet..I doubt :D
     
  5. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Just curious what you mean by this Kernelwars. How is it locked?
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Thanx for the fast response! :O lol. I'm running the trial version right now, just checking it out before I but it.
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    ZoneAlarm pro includes an option (in the "Firewall" section, "Main" tab, "Advanced" button) to "Lock host file", which seems to give extremely effective protection to the HOSTS file.:rolleyes:
     
  9. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I am pretty sure you aint gonna but it because its awesome I am sure you will buy it though..:thumb: :thumb:
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Just see my signature below. I have run Prevx alone for two years now. I use Malwarbytes free for an occasional scan just for giggles...:eek: :cautious: :D
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Right click host file and set read only does the same :D
     
  12. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I didn't know that. Thanks.

    If that's all it does, it isn't really locked. For example, SafeOnline can still change the entries in the file according to PrevxHelp here, so there may be ways around this protection. For the record, mine is read only too but it is probably not much use.
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is correct - while a Read Only attribute will cause some text editors to not save to the file, it certainly does not actually prevent writing to it. ZoneAlarm would have to be doing something on the kernel-side to protect it properly (I haven't taken a look at it myself) but Read Only won't deter anyone except for a very simple attacker.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.