Is it safe to install NOD as only ondemand scanner with other AV installed

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Technic, Sep 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Hi!

    Is it safe to install NOD only ondemand scanner enabled into system which has other AV running?

    Thank you,

    Technic
     
  2. myluvnttl

    myluvnttl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Why would you want to do that? NOD 32 is one of the best out there in the market.
     
  3. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    is a good question this. And the opposite:Is safe to install other on-demand AV with NOD as a permanent residence?
     
  4. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Technic,

    These days that's a dicey proposition. It depends very much on what the other scanner is. AV's are increasingly touchy on this point.

    Based on NOD32's generally acknowledged strength with respect to low resource footprint, having it as the real-time monitor probably makes more sense.

    That said, this is one of those questions where, if you have to ask, the general answer is probably no.

    Blue
     
  5. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Thanks for the replies guys. Answer is still bit unclear. :D

    Cheers,

    Technic
     
  6. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I already have NOD32, KAV, avast!, AntiVir, AVG and BitDefender on the same system without problems, but can't garanty that you will not have some problem with your system setup and configuration... ;)
     
  7. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428

    Indeed, that's what i meant. Just wondering if i can disable all modules except ondemand scanner when installing NOD32 i should be safe? :p

    Cheers,

    technic
     
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I have to wonder why you would pay for a software solution and then disable 3/4 of it's functionality - just what are you using for the other 3/4 of the functionality - and why? (genuine question - trying to get a perspective on how/what/why).
     
  9. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    In the past, I have installed NOD32 as on-demand alongside KAV. It seemed to work with no problems, but I never had it on for more than a month at a time.

    Rich
     
  10. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
  11. musicman

    musicman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    199
    I have Nod32 installed also but everything is enabled. As a example I use F-prot as my on demand scanner. I would feel anthing more would be a overkill!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.