Is it possoble to backup to a drive without needing to create a folder first ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by joad, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joad

    joad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Is it possible somehow to back up all files and folders from a partition on one hard drive to the whole of another hard drive, without needing to create a folder on the destination drive please ?

    Any help appreciated.

    Joad.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Acronis is just going to create a backup set displaying a group(see note) of *.tib files. It does not care where you store them. Storing the .tib files in a folder is simply neater and allows for multiple backups to be stored on one drive.

    Note: Receiving drive is the determining factor. The backup may be one single file if NTFS; or a group of 4G files if FAT32; or any size you select using "archive splitting".
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Yes, it is .... the Backup Image files will just be among whatever other files you have on the backup drive. Give the backup an easily recognizable name and you'll not have a problem finding it.
     
  4. joad

    joad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Many thanks Grover and DwnNdrty for the quick response. When I tried to do the final stage of the start of the backup part, the next button was greyed out unless I specified a destination file or I created one ? ?

    Also, is there anyway that it can do it, so that you're left with all of the files copied over to the new destination hard drive without it them having any file extns of .tib ?

    Joad.
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Ah, you need to provide a name for the tib file. That's it!

    Colin
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Forgive me but I don't see a way of quoting your question in a reply. The .tib extension is necessary in that it informs the system as to the application that it is associated with. If you delete the extension or rename it, it will not run properly.
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.

    That'd be the quote button - next to the reply button I reckon! :eek:

    Or you can copy and paste the text, and bung a [QUOTE ] without the space and then a [\QUOTE] at the end of it. :cool:


    Colin
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  9. joad

    joad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Hi Bruce, I think Colin answered your first point, but if still stuck on it, just let us know.

    I'm trying to copy all files from one partition on one hard drive to another hard drive, without the files being connected to any program really.

    Joad.
     
  10. joad

    joad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Many thanks Grover, but in that image it's copying files to folders, which is different to what I'm trying to do - copying all files from one partition on one hard drive to another hard drive, without copying to any base folders.

    Joad.
     
  11. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    If you want to simply copy files from one drive to another, then an excellent program to do that is Replicator free for personal use from Karen Kenworthy.

    The destination can look just like the source with many user options. You can copy as many or as few as you prefer.

    http://www.karenware.com/powertools/ptreplicator.asp
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.