Is it okay to install Windows XP Service Pack 3 with Smart Security 3.0.642.0 ?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by stevenoon, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stevenoon

    stevenoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Hi all,

    I'm running ESET Smart Security 3.0.642.0 - just wondering if I'm okay to install Windows XP Service Pack 3.

    Many thanks,

    Steve.
     
  2. Tunerz

    Tunerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    I'm running XP SP3 with ESS 3.0.642.0 here. I currently experience no problems, but some do have.
     
  3. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'm running XP SP3 with version 3.0.650 with no problems, but I think you have to try it out yourself, to see if everything is ok. You can always uninstall SP3 again.


    Cheers
     
  4. Xophile

    Xophile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    alsom running XP SP3 with ESS v 3.0.650 with no problems

    (so far, only used SP3 for 5 days)
     
  5. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    I installed SP3 too. I have ESS 3.0.630.
    I do not experience troubles, but after install I needed an additional reboot while i did not have any networktraffic.
    After the additional reboot I saw an alert popping up from ESS that warned me that SVCHOST was changed, and that IF i did not expect this, I should not approve the change.

    For myself, no problem. But i guess that a lot of home users may not be sure what to do and may choose safely to "reject" the change. And rejecting the change may cause some trouble I guess.

    Maybe it is possible for ESET to add the changes in any kind of way in the updates, so that ESS recognizes that SP3 is the valid reason for SVCHOST to be changedo_O? I think lots of people will be happy with that....

    Greetings from a very nice warm Holland (lots of sunshine @ 25C :D )
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    We have our testing of Microsoft Windows XP SP3 with ESET Smart Security and ESET NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.650.0, NOD32 v2.70.39 and ESET SysInspector v1.1.1.0.

    Testing is ongoing, but no issues have been found yet. Please keep in mind, though, that other applications and device drivers may need to be updated for compatibility with SP3 besides those from ESET.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Running SP3 with no problems , too.
     
  8. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Just installed SP3 yesterday on both laptop and desktop, both running ESS. The trick, and I found out the hard headed way, is to disable the AV, FW, and any other progs in the tray when you start to install. I even received a window telling me to do that BEFORE it started to install. First couple of times, ignored it and had tons of problems. Yestereday, obeyed the rules :), and in 25 minutes or so, install had completed, NO PROBLEMS! Just a hint for ya.....
     
  9. Number99

    Number99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Sweden
    I installed XP3 today without any problems at all.:D
     
  10. mieses

    mieses Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    All network traffic was blocked after installing SP3. I am using ESS Firewall in "Interactive mode".

    In my case, I was able to re-enable networking by briefly switching the firewall into "Automatic mode" and then switching it back to "Interactive Mode". Somehow, this trick re-enables networking. Under SP2, this trick was not necessary.

    I have rebooted XP 2 or 3 times since installing SP3 and this issue has not gone away.

    Would deleting and resetting the firewall rules affecting "svchost.exe" provide a potential fix? I am hesitant to try since I am not an expert in ESS.

    UPDATE: I'm running ESS 3.0.650.0
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2008
  11. kFyros

    kFyros Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Be very cautious in business environment

    I installed win xp sp3 yesterday in a PC at work, and since then ,
    after I Login to the domain the explorer freezes and cannot load the main windows desktop.

    I unistalled sp3 (system restore from Safe Mode) and the PC works but now Remote Desktop does not work, and since I need it , I reinstalled sp3.

    I Uninstalled eset smart security (from safe mode) and the pc works fine.

    I reinstalled Smart Security ,and after reboot the PC again does not load the desktop .
    I tried various firewall settings (Did this by uninstalling eset- rebooting -reinstalling eset - changing settings - rebooting), I even disabled all eset protection (firewall - antivirus - antispyware) but still the PC refuses to load the desktop.

    I am guessing the problem is with the network access after I Login to the Domain,
    because I have setup the domain controller to replicate Users Settings and Folders of the client-PC's (eg "My Documents"),
    into a "Users" folder in Server (That's common practice in domains for easiest backup and maintenance reasons) .
    I think the PC tries to connect to the domain controller to retrieve the users settings and the firewall does not allow it.:(

    I don't know what the hell changed in winxp-sp3 with this procedure and has conflict with smart security...:mad:

    I will try the newer version in Monday (650) , and I am hoping to have some results because I already lost a whole business day with this crap.:mad:
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2008
  12. kFyros

    kFyros Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I am getting back with newer results in my quest to "Make my PC work with Windows XP SP3 and ESET Smart Security Suite in a WIN2003 Server Domain" . :)

    Finally, there was no problem with the "My Documents Redirection" function for the domain users. I disabled the function and nothing changed.

    I installed the last version of the SUITE (650) and had the same problems.

    After many uninstallations - installations and changes in the firewall parameters, I changed the ESET service (ekrn) to manual (from automatic).

    The PC workd fine. I manuall started the service and the egui.exe (the eset's graphical user interface console) and the PC worked with no other problems.

    The problem probably is that the ESET suite is blocking network communication that is needed for some other processes or services to startup.
    So I had to make the ESET service to start later than other services that are being blocked by it.

    Of course this can be a security risk , because network access is initiated before the security suite is activated, but i think the only network access that is initiated is between my pc and the domain controller and router.

    My final solution to the problem (patch is more accurate word),
    was to edit the registry and make the ESET SERVICE dependent to the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection, Sharing (ICS) service (SharedAccess is the servicename).
    The windows firewall service is starting after RPC (is dependant from RPC).

    Before this I tried with dependency to NetLogon service which didn't work.

    So the eset service starts after the window firewall service and the PC Logs in the domain without other problems.

    If this is a common issue, it is pathetic:mad:.
    The PC had been formatted clean a month ago, with new Hard drive due to an old harddisk failure.
    Win XP sp2 and eset security were the initial programs and no other antivirus - protection program was installed before eset.

    I don' t know who's fault is it (MS's or ESET's) , but this should have major effect in my business if I had to deal with such problem in a customer's environment.

    I recently became an ESET reseller, and I purchased the products for business use in my office (a small environment), with well configured computers,
    mostly because I wanted to test the products in a live working environment.

    My opinion is not positive after this major problem, and I thank god that I haven't installed eset security yet in my customers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.