Is it normal to see the "Start Windows Normally" screen after using Try & Decide?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by blanikix, Jul 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blanikix

    blanikix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello,

    Whenever I use Try & Decide I always get the black screen that asks you if you want to "Start Windows Normally" after the system is restarted. Is this normal?

    thanks for the help
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What version of Windows - XP, Vista, SP1,2,3?

    I don't recall that happening with XPpro SP2


    Colin
     
  3. blanikix

    blanikix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I'm using Vista SP1.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I think this is down to the way Vista works (I don't use Vista, so I could be wrong).

    I believe when Vista boots it flags part of the MBR as 'booted', when it is shut down normally, it clears the flag. This tells it if there has been a 'dirty' shutdown and maybe some remedial action has to be taken on reboot.

    Try&Decide doesn't or can't/shouldn't alter this flag, so when rebooting, Vista thinks it's had a bad shutdown, hence the message.

    I think therefore this is normal for Vista.

    Colin

    Just before anyone points this out, XP also has a dirty/clean boot flag, but it isn't quite as zealous as the Vista incarnation.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2008
  5. blanikix

    blanikix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    OK. I see. Your theory makes sense. I shouldn't be concerned about this, should I?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.