is it normal for there to be 100mb reserved partition as only boot

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by winterlord, Nov 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. winterlord

    winterlord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    175
    i was wondering when i go into the admin tools i see a 100mb reserved section that says system reserved. and is also the boot partition but yet my c: drive is not. so im guessing it boots there first then into c: normaly id say this is not normal but i dont know i am on windows 7. does anyone know anything about this. also odly enough it says C: is boot drive but if i go into safe mode. then it shows the system reserved portion as the boot drive and not c:

    here is a picture so you can see
     

    Attached Files:

  2. demonon

    demonon Guest

    As far as I know, Windows 7 automatically creates a 100 mb partition.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Apparently some have it and some don't. I have it on mine. But I have heard that under some circumstances, the small 100mb partition isn't created. I don't think it matters much either way.... Just let 7 do it's thing as it sees fit.
     
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    There's some explanation here.

    You might want to be careful, depending on your setup, about messing around with it:

     
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Thanks for that link wat0114, now I know what's going on as to why the 100 meg partition was being created on some test installs and not other drives. :thumb:
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I found the same thing on a machine I formatted and did a clean install on. On one I upgraded from Vista this of course did not happen, as it kept the original partition.
     
  7. demonon

    demonon Guest

    I know a few people with home premium with another extra partition.
    Also, they do have a recovery disk, maybe it is something extra.
     
  8. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The 100 MB partition can be removed.

    I don't want it. It takes up one of the four primary partition slots in the MBR and is a potential concern when you are restoring images to a new HD. Two images will need to be restored.
     
  10. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    FYI for anyone who needs to get around this when installing in the future. When I installed Win7 upgrade with an os preinstalled, I deleted the preinstalled os partition and formatted it. When I created the partition for Win7, it wanted to create the additional 100mb partition. What I did was let it create it after creating mine. Then I deleted the one I created and merged the 100mb partition with the one I deleted and it worked. No 100mb partition, just one partition.
     
  11. winterlord

    winterlord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    175
    im still using the windows 7 RC version and the partition dont always apear there and it does not show in my computer just admin tools/diskmanagement. also i dont use bitlocker at all and as far as i know it was'nt in the rc version but i could be wrong. but i need to read up on this a bit. also thanks for the link wat and axial.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2009
  12. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    The 100mb partition is hidden thats why you only see it in diskmangement. This partition is created during Win7 installation. If you look carefully you can install win7 in one partition or after some formating/deleting etc iit shows one big partition and one 100mb partition. Look at the post before yours.
     
  13. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    I only have 1 partition with the status (System, Boot, Page File, Active, Crash Dumb, Primary Partition), Windows 7 Ultimate 64.
    I created a new partition, installed Win 7, deleteted the old partition and merged the free space to the Win 7 partition. No additional 100MB partition.
     
  14. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I upgraded from XP Pro to W7 Pro.
    Installed over XP.
    Found the extra partition and it was linked to 'old files' from XP.
    Deleted the extra partition and have had no problems.
    I'm not saying you should do it too, only that it worked for me.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hugger,

    Did you delete a partition or a folder named Windows.old?
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi

    can i install windows 7 under virtualbox and make an image?

    to restore with a recovery cd in an new hard disk?


    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.