is DD 11 being worked on?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Phenny, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phenny

    Phenny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Simple question as the title says.

    DD 10 is getting rather dated now. The last update was only some small Vista compatibility fix afaik.
    You can start to see it fail on modern Sata chipsets.
     
  2. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    I would be surprised if not, but I guess you are looking for an Acronis response:)
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Acronis seems to avoid the DD forum. The last "hint" of anything new was a new build that would let OSS support OEM installations of Vista. Currently, manual work-arounds are required to allow them to work with OSS as it can't detect them automatically.

    Agreed that the Linux kernel is quite old compared to TI (maybe that's good, though, considering the problems with TI 11). I use DD mostly in Safe Mode (because it boots faster) or in BartPE/VistaPE (for better driver support).
     
  4. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    mmmmm it does. I have never tried to use OSS side of things, just for resizing, renaming, creating or deleting Mud.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Well, if you do, make sure to create an Entire Disk Image using TI before you install it. Odds are good you'll need it. Not that OSS is a bad program, it's just that it's so easy to screw your system up with it if something goes wrong. (I've had this happen with other boot mangers too, so I'm not just picking on OSS.)

    I use OSS and it's a fairly decent program. It could be a great program if Acronis would just fix several of the same old bugs that have been hanging on for the last several versions/builds. It doesn't seem to really get any attention, though.
     
  6. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    I have lots of those and don't think i'll need to use OSS anyway but thanks for the info:)
     
  7. Phenny

    Phenny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Don't wanna go into the details since i don't want to rant right now, but i had some tough fights with OSS...until it gets some major upgrades/attention
    i'd stay a few miles away from it.
    I'm using the stone-age method for dual booting with vista, that's hitting F12 on Bios start and selecting the hdd it's on. (having had all other drives physically unplugged during install :D)
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I have a vague suspicion, that may be if not the next DD, the one after might become part of TI.

    Colin
     
  9. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    I would be willing to pay a little more for more data recovery/copying/rescue (Knoppix like) capabilities in the new DD11 version. I would say around 75$ off the shelf would be fair.
     
  10. DickDiver

    DickDiver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    51
    besides ;)

    is it possible to boot into TI rescue mode from boot sequence with GRUB as it is possible with OSS?

    If that would be possible I would stay away from OSS too.

    Or I wouldnt if would know a good and reliable tool to back up my MBR...
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If you mean booting to Acronis Programs (TI, DD, etc.) from an internal partition, then yes. The procedure is basically the same as creating a bootable USB hard drive with the programs.

    See: Recovery Manager on HD Possible?

    The process for using GRUB would require the same setup, except you would just add the entry into the menu.lst file and chainload the partition instead of editing the BOOTWIZ.OSS file and messing with OSS.

    You can also use Grub4DOS, if you want, which is easier to setup and maintain (at least, I think so).
     
  12. DickDiver

    DickDiver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    51
    Thank you MudCrab! I will have a look at that when time is avaible.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.