Is bitdefender worth a try?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bitdender 9, Nov 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bitdender 9

    bitdender 9 Guest

    Is BitDefender Professional Plus 9 any good?Also wanted to know about there built in firewall.Is the bloat all that bad?

    I have been using look-n-stop firewall for awhile now with good results.
     
  2. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes very much so. I would have to say this would have to be one of the best AV/Suite packages in one that I've ever used and never had a problem with it. Its has a very good config. interface, easy to setup and use, updates itsself a hell of alot, infact I would say this AV updates more regularly than the past ones I've used and its update level personally speaking is on the same level to that of NOD32, as NOD also updates alot as well. Also its got a very clean straight forward interface.

    About its FW. Well I've never had any probs with it, very configurable thought I left mine to default settings.

    Bloat ? Well simply put it this way. I run this program on one of my PC's which is a PII 266 Mhz and she runs like a Swiss Blancpain :D. Never had any issues with it runs extreeeemely well :D

    Oh and the one final verdict. Yes, I did a scan a while back and it did seem to pick up a false positive, but the updates fixed it very quickly. The false positive was with a program called Crap Cleaner. It was fixed within 3 hrs after BD Pro 9 released newer patches/updates. I would not let these sort of small things worry you, as no AV software in this world is 100% full proof and alot will pick up false postives.

    Give it a 1 month trial shot, you've got noting to loose.

    You can download it from here:

    http://www.bitdefender.com/site/Download/downloadFile/366/EN/bitdefender_prof_v9.exe
     
  3. bitdender 9

    bitdender 9 Guest

    Thanks-----i may try it out.
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    The AntiVirus component is much bettter in its class than the firewall and anti-spam are in theirs.
    Bloat is relative. If you have a new machine then this Suite is probably not bloated. Different story on an older machine.
    LNS is as light as a feather. If you like it why not just consider BD Standard?

    Worth taking for a test spin though as I found the BD RTM a bit of a drag even on a new machine with 2GB RAM.
     
  5. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I have BD 9 Standard but I use it as a manual scanner only since NAV is my realtime scanner. But my two cents worth is that BD is an excellent scanner and should provide good protection; and yes it does update quite often. :D
     
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I only have 1 problem with Bitdefender..... Sometimes while playing games Bitdefender needs to restart/reload after an update, which cause the current game I'm playing to minumize itself to the windows task bar. *cries* Anyone else have this problem?
     
  7. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    That's because BD "steals" the focus when it reloads -- I do not think there is any way around that -- I have noticed the same phenomenon, you are typing something and suddenly BD reloads and takes the focus away from the document you are working on, and you are temporarily "typing into the air" {{~Grin~}}.
     
  8. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Thanks Randy... Have a Happy Holiday.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can change these settings in the Update > Settings tab, i.e.: ask before downloading or ask before installing or don't restart automatically after updating.

    Gerard
     
  10. FatalChaos

    FatalChaos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Can BD9 Pro pass leak tests?
     
  11. This type of bloat is relative to other security suites, not computers.
     
  12. Are you expecting any?
     
  13. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    It's bloat if you have relatively little hard disc space or memory to play with.
     
  14. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Bloat is bloat - It can improve on new machines compared to a 1 year old machine, but not really that much.
     
  15. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Compare a new machine with a 5 year-old one ;)
     
  16. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's a tad too much :p :D
     
  17. dog

    dog Guest

    The Last Post was <Removed> as SPAM. If the Member could please read our TOS for further clarification is needed. Any further like posts will be removed without notice. ;)

    Regards;

    Steve
     
  18. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    BitDefender is worth a try and its not even close to "bloat".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.