Is Avast! Free Antivirus and SAS 64-Bit?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by berryracer, Jul 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I noticed that it installed in the Program Files folder and not the Program Files (x86) so does that mean that the app is native 64-bit or it just installs in the Program Files by default regardless of the OS type?

    If it is 64-bit then that's even better

    Same thing I noticed with SUPERAntiSpyware it always installs in the Program Files folder not the x86

    Even though when you download both apps there is no option for 32 bit or 4 bit there's just one installer
     
  2. jna99

    jna99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    94
    Location:
    127.0.0.1, Netherlands
    I think that avast is 32 bit. The website says that 64-bit is fully supported.
    If you have a 64-bit OS you can check that with the standard taskmanager.
    if you open taskmanager from windows and click on the processes tab then you will see "*32" behind the process name.
    this is what you would see if you have emsisoft, just an example: a2service.exe *32

    But you can see it with almost all processes that are running in memory.
    Firefox.exe*32 is another example.

    Usually its a good idea to find out on the products page if it supports 64-bit and check the forums of the product also.
    Some 32bit products like Geswall (free version) do not work on 64-bit, or at least not fully functional.

    EDIT:

    If a product has support for 64bit, then usually most installers have both 32bit and 64bit within the same installer.
    Comodo IS or FW is a good example. the installation files have both versions, usually that is why the setup files are big.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  3. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    SAS has a 64bit version and a 32bit one.

    avast! is 32bit.
     
  4. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Just look in your program folder(s) and see which one it installed in.
     
  5. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    It means that the Program Files folder is the default location for that app to install to. An application installing to your Program Files folder instead of the (x86) folder does not mean it's a 64 bit application.

    And no, Avast is not a 64 bit application.
     
  6. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    thanks for the clarifications guys
     
  7. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I just noticed that SAS *is* 64-bit
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.