Is an antispyware needed with Avast?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Writer2008, May 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Writer2008

    Writer2008 Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    i am no longer using ZoneAlarm Anti-spyware and was wondering if i should install an antispyware program even though Avast Home has antispyware protection? i see people who use different ones here and i have SuperAntiSpyware free installed, but do i need to use it or another one for active protection?
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    You don't have to use realtime protection of an antispyware with Avast. It may create conflicts.

    SuperAnti Spyware is good, but you can use Ewido Micro Scanner also.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello Writer2008,
    using superatispyware free version for ondemand scans every so often say weekly should be fine. no need for realtime antispyware IMO.
     
  4. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Since SAS Pro is only $20 for a lifetime subscription, and the real-time protection has virtually zero impact on system performance, I see no reason not to use it alongside Avast! for an overlap in protection. I've seen many an infection (vundo & assorted rogue antispyware come to mind) slip past Avast! to later be picked up with a SAS on-demand scan.

    FWIW I use Avira Premium and have SAS Pro running in real-time. The Pro version also allows auto-updates and scheduled scanning.
     
  5. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    I'd say yes.
    Complement Avast with SAS on-demand and you're good to go
     
  6. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    It won't hurt to have SAS Pro along with Avast, I think of it as improving on your spyware detection which is not a bad thing. Actually I have that setup on my bro in laws computer and it runs like a dream.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Use ThreatFire.
     
  8. snazzy

    snazzy Lurker

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Is it wise to have two different anti-virus softwares on your system. I hear many people saying it'll cause a conflict or something like that.
    I use AVAST Home edition only after i removed AVIRA and i have no regrets up till now.
     
  9. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Real-Time, only one...
    on-demand: as many as you want
     
  10. Nuke

    Nuke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    USA
    Does the free version of SAS run in real time? When I start up my Vista machine or my computer with XP, SAS is in the system tray.
     
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Only the Pro version runs in real time.
     
  12. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    No matter which AV you use, I dont think it hurt's a thing to have a standalone Antispyware program with it, wheather it has a realtime guard running or just to have for a weekly backup scanner. I've got my 72 year Dad set up with Avast and SuperAntispyware Pro (program and def's set to auto on both) and running fine on his XP.
     
  13. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    SAS free loads at startup, bur it doesn't protect you as in "real-time protection". For what Nick has stated in other threads, you should leave it there because it so can protect itself against some malware that targets SAS. If it's not running, some malware can block it from running it when you need it.

    Also, if it's not running, you can't perform right-click scans on files or folders.

    Nick has said that SAS uses virtually no resources by just sitting there.
     
  14. Trendstone71

    Trendstone71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Avast! Home needs some AntiSpyware support.

    Option 1: SUPERAntiSpyware (at least the Free version=On Demand-Scan).

    Option 2: Malwarebytes' AntiMalware (at least the Free version=On Demand-Scan).

    Some lunatic security freaks, use both 1 and 2 options.
     
  15. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    I don't think it's that loonie at all. A blacklist scanner will never catch all the threaths out there so a second realtime defense to have as light as SAS or MBAM is is certainly not a bad idea. Remember these last 2 are not a av replacement but a supplement. They try to target as much malware that av's would miss. :thumb:
     
  16. kencat

    kencat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Awesome info to run into. Thanks Hurst. :thumb:

    I'll be putting the little bug into the systray shortly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.