Is Acronis True Image Home 2009 worth the upgrade?

Discussion in 'polls' started by skypx, Oct 17, 2008.

?

Acronis True Image Home 2009 worth the upgrade?

  1. Yes

    23.7%
  2. No

    76.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skypx

    skypx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    I'm currently using version 11 and I'm wondering if version 12 is worth the upgrade. Please don't forget to vote. Thanks.
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I will not change from Verrion 10 because it does exactly what I need. I use a secure zone on a second internal drive. I only need full drive images. Version 10 does this automatically and manages them on the FIFO basis with no manual intervention.
    I certainly will not change to a system where once the zone has filled up I will have to manually intervene to remove the oldest full image whenever a new one is created. That is a daft backward step.
    When I saw that my prime requirement has been removed there is no point wasting time and effort investigating the " New Features" of Version2009.

    I thought it best to give my main reason for not upgrading and not just tick the NO BOX.

    Xpilot
     
  3. 6rtury

    6rtury Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I agree that 2009 is a step backward from v.10. It's quickly evident from the change in user interface, which has been dumbed-down significantly -- so much so that it's harder to navigate and find what is wanted. What's going on here?

    I have the Home version but that doesn't mean that I'm a computer idiot.

    6rtury
     
  4. Tipperton

    Tipperton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Benind you!
    I voted no because when I tried to do a backup with 2009, every attempt failed with a generic "This process failed." error message with no information provided to help troubleshoot the cause.

    I didn't find the user interface in 2009 dumbed down and actually liked it better than the one in 10 and 11, but a nice user interface is useless if the program doesn't work.

    I briefly considered going back to 11 but remembered that editing tasks doesn't work.

    So with everyone saying that 10 was the best version, I have gone back to it and will most likely not buy any more upgrades since each new version just seems to get worse.

    It might actually be time to see what, if any, competition True Image has and consider abandoning True Image completely since it seems to be going down hill and as important as backups are, that's not a good thing.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Imo, some will like ATI12/2009 -- atleast it works on more paltforms than 10 or the dreaded ATI11. Some, like myself, will reject it, not for the bugs that need to be fixed -- and they are there -- but because you cannot use automanagement for maintaining a series of Full backups.

    ATI10 -- yes, if it works on your hardware.
    ATI11 -- should never have been released.
    ATI12/2009 -- if and when a fixer build is released, try it and see if you like how it works.

    I'm not recommending iATI12/2009 to friends or clients.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    For me, no. Version 11 does everything i need and works just fine. I found the 2009 version is actually slightly slower to backup/restore on my system.
     
  7. gispos

    gispos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I’m working with v11 and have tested v12. In the moment is v 12 a step backward from v11.
    I’m waiting for a release ho Try&Decide that does was on the Homepage or helpfile Acronics says.

    “Protect one or more Partitions, with reboot”

    Sorry for my poor English
    Thx gispos
     
  8. paracanary

    paracanary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I vote YES. Try and Decide now is useful and worth the upgrade.
     
  9. Tipperton

    Tipperton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Benind you!
    I don't need Try&Decide, I use SandBoxie or VMWare Workstation when testing new software.

    I've just requested a refund of my v12/2009 upgrade purchase.

    The only thing I saw in v12/2009 that I would have liked is incremental backup's ability to switch to a full backup if the backup media is blank. Then I'd only need one task for each drive instead of two, but proper scheduling takes care of that, so it's no big deal.
     
  10. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    ATI11.8053 works for me on an old system with XP Pro and a new laptop with Vista Home Premium, although I needed the right startup parameter to get the rescue CD to work in Full mode on the laptop. I only do full image backups, now from a BartPE disk, and restores work fine (also have Acronis Disk Director plug-in on the CD; good combo for test restores). There are no features I can see in 2009 version that would justify upgrading for me, even assuming it would work without problems. Only reason I could see trying it out is for backup speed improvement, but with ATI's track record, why bother if what I currently use for my systems works for my needs.

    Doug
     
  11. oldtimercurt

    oldtimercurt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    I think not. The loss of "easily" maintaining multiple full images plus the metafile database that makes renamed images invisible to TI internal functions were reasons I told Acronis I wanted a refund. Amazingly they opened a trouble ticket. Be interesting to see how they solve this.

    OTC
     
  12. Tipperton

    Tipperton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Benind you!
    That's no surprise, refund requests go through their support system which will open a ticket for the request. Same thing happened to me when I requested a refund for my v12/2009 upgrade.
     
  13. Dort

    Dort Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    How does a person go about getting a refund. Ti-2009 is the worst version yet. I sent in a request to Customer Support over a week ago and I have not heard from them, only an automatic e-mail stating they had received my request. I may have used the wrong procedure to get a refund. I would appreciate any help on how to go about getting it.
     
  14. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I was notified in 3 days that they were processing my refund. The refund was posted the next day. I had sent my request the same day ATI12/2009 was released. undoubtedly, the number of requests re ATI12 were relatively low at that time and the number of purchases were few. But don't give up. They might be bogged down with such requests now. Keep a copy of your the first reply to establish the date yu contacted them re refund, should you need to to prove that in the future.



     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  15. EddieA

    EddieA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Posts:
    21
    The verdict is still out for me.

    I just want a version that will handle simple backups to a networked drive.

    So far, I've been through TI10, TI11, And now TI12/2009.

    So far, less than a week, TI12/2009 hasn't failed to take the ackup, but I'm less than impressed with th e"consolidation" feature.

    Cheers,
    Eddie
     
  16. NumLock

    NumLock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    223
    I'm still waiting for the enterprise edition.

    I tried out 2009 (never did for v11 and v10) on a dummy pc setup at the office and so far so good. I only installed it so that I could replicate the problems that some users' experience.

    So far on a basic unbranded PC setup; 2009 installs flawlessly, restores well too, incrementals have succeeded succesfully for me..... I believe most of the problems users post in this board are those whose systems that:

    - already has more than a year old with a lot of security programs installed and other complicated programs that was installed and un installed and left traces behind, that has conflicts with ATI. I would suggest for these users to try start out fresh with ATI; because ATI is also a software and its not perfect for every system setup.
    - network problems.
    - Branded machines that have recovery partitions or programs that conflicts with ATI.
     
  17. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Why I voted: NO

    I use Ti in two ways.
    a) For my own: Only with rescue-cd using fullbackup and restore.
    b) For a client: Using installed Ti with tasks

    "a)" is TI's main business and it works (must work). "a)" is not the reason that I vote here.

    But:
    At my client I use a security concept:
    - Task: create Full-images and 5 INCs, then create a new full-image. Max 3 full-images.

    I use automated filenames with the backup location.
    That means that I have three full-images with date/time-based filenames. Important is that I have three DIFFERENT filenames (in Ti11).

    I wrote an own Win-program which looks for the newest filenames (included the INCs) to copy them to an USB-stick.

    I have the three current fullbackups (incl. the INCs) on the stick.
    That is the life insurance for the client's establishment. In case of robbery, fire, etc...

    In Ti2009: not possible because there are no automatic time/date-based filenames.

    bummer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.