Is 8.0 image compatible with 9.0?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Technic, Sep 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Can i restore image made by 8.0 with 9.0?

    Cheers,

    Technic
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Technic,

    Acronis Support have stated that new versions and builds of True Image are backwards compatible with images created via previous versions or builds.

    Regards
     
  3. Hannes

    Hannes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    At the moment, it's the other way round. I can restore images made with TI 9 ONLY with TI 8.. If I try to restore TI 9 images with TI 9, I get the "corrupted file" error.
     
  4. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Hello,

    Thanks for the reply guys. This is quite confusing. Just wondering why the developers (Acronis) wont give any common statement(s) about all the latest problems. We are talking about backing our data back. :doubt:
     
  5. Hannes

    Hannes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Sad to say, TI 9 is at the moment absolutely useless for me. TI 8 also had a lot of problems; I now again use TI 7 which was the last version that worked reliable for me. I cannot understand that software with so many bugs is released.....I mean, we PAYED for it! Like everybody, I use a lot of programs which are updated on a regular base. So far I never have had such problems (means I cannot use the program at all).
     
  6. gyokuru

    gyokuru Guest

    Nothing to add....

    I make only full Backups (none differential or Incremental) with version 9 and hope i can use the TI 8 Rescure Media to restore the Backups.

    When TI 9 is still a Collection of Bugs in a few months i will never use any Acronis Produkt in the Future. A Backup Software has to be reliable...this should be the most important characteristic.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.