IObit Security 360 Beta Released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Phenom, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
  2. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I got my license at a yahoo account in a matter of 2 minutes.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    cool;) how does that work buddy?
     
  4. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I 've installed it over Shadow Defender for now and seems ok. I like the fact that is very light. One thing that puzzles me is why the tray executable wants internet access outbound. I blocked it with no ill effects.

    Now i think i will try find some malware to see what happens with it in action.

    So far i like its GUI. :D
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:thumb:
    is this like an antivirus or some thing like Malware bytes?
     
  6. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    It's supposed to be something like MBAM only better. :D


    Anyway, i don't have it on the explorer menu. Anyone else running this in Win 7 x64? It's supposed to have a scan option in the explorer's menu, but i don't see it. Unless there's a problem running it with Shadow Defender... :cautious:
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    i just got a free licence but not sure if this is for 1 year:D
     
  8. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, the email that i received has as title "IObit Security 360 License Code". It doesn't mention anything about 1 year, but that should be it.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    maybe:) let's put it to the test:)
     
  10. Criss

    Criss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    At the offer page, it got write :

    ;)
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    man am i blind ? :argh: it is there:D
     
  12. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Yes, that's it. I got some malware, about 400+ pieces, Avast left only 31 after the demand scan, now i am scanning C drive with Iobit to see what it will find from the remaining 31. Then i am going to let it scan them all. The problem is that i don't have a scan option in the explorer's context menu. So i have to scan the entire C drive. :ouch:
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    let us know please i want to know my self cause i am new to this one:thumb:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    hey Fuzzfas this one has something similar to a behabiour blocker;)
     
  15. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, from the whole package, 37 were left after IObit:


    http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/7779/65117615.png


    Of course since both Avast and Iobit left some, they may be dud files.

    Anyway, for this sample, i consider this a very good performance. Note: Since they weren't exes, i changed Iobit's settings not to limit scan only to exe files.

    What i don't know is how good it it in real time protection. Seems many folks said that it has problem there.

    My main issue is that i don't have it in the right click explorer context menu. o_O
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:thumb:
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for testing
     
  18. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Yes, but given the reports about realtime scanning not working, i will leave the bb testing to someone more brave (with VM), because Shadow Defender i run is a beta and in case it misses it, i wouldn't want to infect my PC. :D
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    that is true,maybe a brave soul wants to take a risk:D
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    maybe i am that so called brave soul:argh:
     
  21. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I am sure you are! :D Go for it and let us know! :D
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    just run a spyware and IObit Security didnt jump at all:'( man i expeted some thing agresive like MalWareBytes Pro:D and i did a scan and only 2 or 3 tracking cookies it found and did same with MalwareBytes bitten this like a pitbull like a pitbull bites
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    try the smart scan now i will try the full scan with IObit Security
     
  24. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, seems you are confirming that its real time scanner is still sleeping. :D I think it has potential, but apparently it's buggy in real time.

    Thanks for the brave attempt! :D
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    your welcome:) and dont forget it is only one try,imagine 500 spywares:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.