Inventory of Software Needed on Domain

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Trooper, Aug 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Hi folks,

    I need to run a scan on my domain to see specifically, what versions of Outlook folks are running on there machines. I am at a central location, but need to scan about 31 different subnets. If it picks up other software etc that is fine, however I just need (right now) to see Outlook versions being run for a project.

    Can anyone recommend any software (free or trial preferred) that can do this? I did a quick Google search this morning and found Lansweeper. Do you think this could do the trick or is there something else out there?

    I've used Spiceworks in the past but found in cumbersome to setup and the results were not always accurate.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You could try and research about Windows PowerShell. If you're running Windows Server 2008, I think it offers version 1, and so you'll have to download version 2 from Microsoft's website. Windows Server 2008 R2 already has version 2.

    There's a version 3, but it's a RC, so I wouldn't run it on a production system; but, it's pretty stable, though. :)

    You could query the remote computers using WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation). PowerShell works with WMI, .NET Framework...

    A quick search gave me this links:

    -http://www.powershellpro.com/why-i-no-longer-hate-writing-documentation/614/

    -http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2009.02.windowspowershell.aspx

    -https://blogs.technet.com/b/otto/archive/2007/03/04/quick-and-dirty-software-inventory-with-psinfo-and-powershell.aspx?Redirected=true

    Anyway, research about it, and see if you can find some script that gets info about some program in remote machines and try to adapt it, or ask for help.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Hi m00nbl00d thanks.

    Not sure if this will work for me as I don't have the time to look at and configure scripts. :(

    Will keep on the hunt though. I am saving your links for future reference however.

    Cheers! ;)
     
  4. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks I had a look at it, but unfortunately the free version will only scan up to 25 hosts.
     
  6. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    If you can connect to other computers Nirsoft ProduKey may help. It pulls up versions, product ID, and license information for each computer.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Cool. I've bookmarked it for future use. Unfortunately I need to scan over 700 workstations so I won't be able to use this. That is why I'm looking for a network scanning tool.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  8. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i remember there being a trial version a year ago or so, maybe you could email them and ask for a trial key?

    edit- i think you may have attempted to download a different product to what i was recommending, this is what your looking for, a free trial is available, just select the 'enterprise' version.
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I did download and select the Enterprise version. It was limited to 25 hosts.
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You're welcome. But, whenever time allows you, I'd learn PowerShell. It's really powerful, and it would allow you to do what you want to do.. and a LOT more! :D
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I hear you. I am just under time constraints at the moment to get this done. Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.