Introducing, The New Prevx Edge.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by trjam, Nov 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
  2. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    769
    Joe,
    Now using 3.0.1.3 and do not have the 'Scan With Prevx' option available in the context menu when I right click a download item on the desktop that I might want to check. It is checked in the GUI menu though. Have had problems with this for a long time but forgot to mention it before. When I have had it available it has rarely worked properly. Any ideas?
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Could you please try uninstalling and then reinstalling from 3.0.1.3? We had an issue a few builds ago which could have broken the right click scan.

    If that doesn't fix it, let me know and I'll investigate further :)
     
  4. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    769
    Did a complete uninstall > crap cleaner > install. Right click scan working fine. Just after a r/click scan completed and I clicked OK the Edge 'eye' went red, the icon disappeared for several seconds and then came back up with a green 'eye'. Is that normal?
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is not normal - that would tend to indicate that Edge encountered a problem. Could you open the event viewer (Start > Run > eventvwr) and see if there are any red "Errors" which reference prevx.exe? I'm guessing it would be logged in there if there was a problem which can be diagnosed "easily" :)
     
  6. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    769
    Have checked the event viewer and there are two red errors but they do not relate to Edge at all and occurred several hours before I reinstalled Edge. The 'source' is C+Serv and 'Event' is 2 for both of them.
    Since my previous post I have managed to open the GUI when the 'eye' went red and the 'scan now' bar was red with the message that I needed to reboot to enable protection but Edge enabled itself before I had a chance to reboot.
    However I have just uninstalled Shadow Defender, I very rarely use it and it hasn't been on for several days but I have once before had some strange behavior which has disappeared when I removed it.
    Will let you know if the problem returns.

    Edit: have just done a scan and the file count has dropped from the 17,000+ I mentioned the other day back to 5-6,000 it used to be, so perhaps the something Edge was suspicious of was Shadow Defender.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,821
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had this problem earlier and this is what I did!!

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1391346&postcount=1402
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1391479&postcount=1419
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1391631&postcount=1427

    TH
     
  8. tombsc

    tombsc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for your help, I have sorted the uninstall and reinstalland it appears to be working fine now.

    I have attached the scan log for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thank you for the log :) The file was indeed a false positive and has been corrected now :) Please let me know if you find anything else!
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    new version working fine on my vista
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    i am having trouble with downloading the prevx edgeo_O
     
  12. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Last night I tried to download the trial version to see how it runs on 1 of my computers.
    Click on the download, goes to another page and nothing happens.
    The box to download never appears.
    Tried several times.
    Problems with the site?
     
  13. PrevxWebDesigner

    PrevxWebDesigner Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    Hmmm, I don't seem to be experiencing any problems :(

    Are you having problems actually loading this page, or is the problem related to clicking the button but nothing happening?
    http://info.prevx.com/downloadedge.asp
     
  14. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    The page appears fine from your link but I can't find anything to start the download.
    The only clickable link is for the 64 bit version.
     
  15. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I just tried it and the big "download now" button is clickable and starts the download dialog on my system. Using Opera 9.63.
     
  16. PrevxWebDesigner

    PrevxWebDesigner Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    89
    Is the big green "Download Now" button not appearing for you?
    http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/8869/downloadon6.gif

    What browser are you using? :)
     
  17. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    The big button is there now!
    I will install tonight after work.

    I still use IE6 by the way.

    Thanks for your help. :)
    Dan
     
  18. Diazruanova

    Diazruanova Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Hi,

    I am using W2K-SP4 and 1Gb RAM with a Pentium 4 2.3Ghz

    besides I have installed as residents:

    avast! 4.8 Home
    SAS 4.25.1012
    OnlineArmor 3.1.0.20
    LinkScanner Pro 2.7.2.0120

    Would it be too much or an overkill to have also installed Edge and would it conflict with any of the above?

    How about slowing my machine: RAM usage? and CPU% ?

    Is it easy to uninstall or does it leave left overs on the registry hard to get rid off?

    Thanks for answering my questions


    Diazruanova
     
  19. bart4444

    bart4444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    My qustion is how can you provide hips with vista 64 bit .Vista has patchguard you cant have kernel hooks etc.Has Pervx 64 the same functions as vista 32 bit and xp dus pervx run ad kernel

    Sorry for my bad english
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    x64 does offer functionality which allows antivirus developers to monitor system functionality. Edge doesn't use kernel hooks in the conventional sense so it isn't affected by PatchGuard :)
     
  21. alley

    alley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,

    I installed 3.0.1.3 on a clean install of Vista x64 with SP1. By default, the checkbox "Enable "Right Click" Scanning" in Windows Explorer" in Edge Settings > Protection Settings is checked, and the option "Scan with prevx Edge" is available. However, when I untick this checkbox, this option is still there. Then, when ticking the box again, the option to "Scan with Prevx Edge" disappears?o_O
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hmm.... had you installed 3.0.1.1 or .2 before? Those versions had this issue which is corrected in .3.

    EDIT: Never mind, I just reproduced it here! :) Not sure what is causing that but we'll have it fixed soon :D
     
  23. Mosqu

    Mosqu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Germany
    If you need additional security depends on your browsing habits / common sense. In my case your current setup would suffice.

    As avast! and Prevx Edge protect against all kinds of malware, I don't see the need of SAS if you would decide to give Prevx Edge a try. But I am not an expert.

    Edge is designed to be highly compatible with other security software.

    Edge is very light on resources. It's easily installed and uninstalled. But I don't know what traces are left behind.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  24. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  25. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Edge 64 bit is still in beta, CSI hasnt got a 64 bit version and 2.0 does although it is an unfinished beta.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.