Introducing, The New Prevx Edge.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by trjam, Nov 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We used to have this functionality but it was very heavily abused so we took it out. We are very interested in helping the community, but unfortunately other security companies prefer to mine for data :(
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes :)
     
  3. hutchingsp

    hutchingsp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Thanks - will definitely be giving this a try on a couple of test boxes.

    I appreciate you're likely to be a bit biased, but equally you know the product inside out - would you say it's suited to the kind of usage I've mentioned?

    I don't like having Antivirus on servers simply because everything I've seen is bloated beyond words, and we don't do much from the console of servers so downloads/drive-by's aren't a real-world issue, it's just that nagging paranoia that "something" could happen.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,068
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just to let you know that I'm still having problems with Right Clicking on My Computer and Right Clicking a Drive to do a full system scan on a Fresh Clean Copy of Vista 32bit.

    But when I go to Advance scan and Click Full scan or Custom scan and select C and D drives it works fine!

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Ok, thanks for the report :) I'll make sure this is addressed in the next release!
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I think it is, however, I think our Edge Enterprise offering will suit you even better once we release it so that you'll be able to use it without any interaction on the server computer itself.

    I definitely agree with not using a conventional antivirus on a server - intercepting every file read/write brings in a huge level of overhead.
     
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Moi aussi :thumb:
     
  8. hutchingsp

    hutchingsp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Any ideas if the pricing is likely to change significantly once the word "Enterprise" enters the equation? :)

    Also, just been looking at the online help and unclear on something - everything I've seen/read/watched concentrates on problems occurring whilst someone is logged onto a machine and doing something i.e interactive.

    With a server of course it spends nearly all its life "hands off" just sitting there humming away at ctrl-alt-del.

    Would Edge still be protecting/dealing with threats and what happens due to the "hands off" nature as there's nobody logged on to hit block/allow if Edge thinks a process is suspect?
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I don't think the price would increase much but I'm not sure at the moment. However, Edge would need a user to be logged in to protect/warn - I imagine we will add better support for a non-logged in server in the future, however. (I'm not sure on the time scale for this at the moment)
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    any thing new coming up?for prevx edge?thanks
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    All of the new features are still in development :)
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    cool thanks,any beta ready ?thanks again
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Not yet, but soon :D
     
  14. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Joe, stop titilating us like this...it is cruel! ;)
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks and let us know please;)
     
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Joe

    Seriously though...I can advise that since installing 3.0.1.17 I have not seen or suspect a single untoward happening such as a red icon in sys tray or disappearing icon, etc.

    Just thought I would let you know...for what it is worth! :D
     
  17. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
  18. GabolaN

    GabolaN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Argentina
    Hi all


    d:\datos\seguridad informatica\pc tools antivirus\pctoolsantivirusextension.dll [PX5: E9EB03CF90AF9D2D799301716109D70023F251DC] Malware Group: High Risk Fraudulent Security Program


    Think this is a false positive, because I had just installed PC Tools berfore running Prevx CSI.


    By the way, what´s that PX5 number?
     
  19. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Some who knows for certain can correct me but my half-way educated guess is that it's a "hash" calculated from the contents of the file, somewhat like a fingerprint.
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, it is a one-to-one hash like MD5 which we use to identify unique files :)
     
  21. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK


    Fixed :)
     
  22. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Good Work PREVX !


    Programme gives glimpse into hackers' world

    Associated Press

    Monday, 16 March 2009


    Getting hacked is like having your computer turn traitor on you, spying on everything you do and shipping your secrets to identity thieves.

    Victims don't see where their stolen data end up. But sometimes security researchers do, stumbling across stolen-data troves that offer a glimpse of what identity theft looks like from criminals' perspective.

    Researchers from security firm Prevx found one such trove, a website used as a stash house for data from 160,000 infected computers before it was shut down this month.

    more here:

    http://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...gives-glimpse-into-hackers-world-1646007.html
     
  23. Dr33

    Dr33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    i want to report one FP

    c:\windows\sonysys\vaio recovery\launcher.exe [PX5: E6A4DD67A0081B02C8480590BAFC4200CC51E06D] Malware Group: Low Risk Adware

    virus total link
    http://www.virustotal.com/analisis/f1723fef4f98fe83c3659b9382d8f6e3

    and i want to know how to avoid prevx to send email about pc infected when i excluded the folder o_O

    thanks
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK


    You may want to try just adding the file itself to the ignore list by clicking Settings > Detection Overrides. I'll take a look to see what the problem would be with sending the MyPrevx emails about an infected PC with an excluded folder. (I've fixed the FP as well, fwiw :D)
     
  25. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    usa
    when i scan with prevx edge in admin account does this also scan stuff in the standard account for example i know that when i use ccleaner in admin account it doesnt touch the standard account,i know they are different kinds of apps but ill ask anyway?thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.