Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Smith,

    That's a known problem that happens on systems with large fonts. We'll fix it soon. Thank you

    Isso
     
  2. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    aigle,

    There are a bunch of competitors, and most of them have free versions. I doubt I can sell it.

    Isso
     
  3. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Thanks Easter, I wish I could express my thoughts like you :thumb:

    Isso
     
  4. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Oh, that's an interesting observation, thank you. I'm wondering if gimmeagig experienced the same problem. I'll install WSA and check.

    Isso
     
  5. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    guest,

    You can delete C according to your setup. You cannot delete B, because it's the parent of both C and F. Hope this makes sense.
    We'll soon introduce "tree"-type view so you can easily see the relations.

    Isso
     
  6. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Bionic,

    Thank you - we'll fix the first two. For the popup - we already replaced it with "watermark"-style display on the background. Next version will include it.

    Isso
     
  7. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Hi Isso - thanks for the reply.

    I have had to do a lot of forced shutdowns in the past and never had that problem. I had to do it because for some reason Windows refused to read my USB disks. I have tried to repeat the problem but can't so have to put it down to the mysteries of Windows :)

    I meant "Create Recovery Media" screen.

    Re the MBR option. I know it should be selected first but once the restore is in progress should it be greyed out? I assume that any change to it after has no effect but other users might not read it as that.

    I have now done the restore again and booted several times without issue.
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Hi Cruise! I just got around to building my latest A@BD today (v7.1.0) and decided to add my W7 installed AXTM folder (Build 967) to the build.

    Upon BOOTing from that disk, I was able to run the AXTM Browser successfully and completely restore my test ROOT system partition on my SSD. The AXTM application itself, of course, will not run due to the absence of its driver in the A@BD image (I didn't try to install it) but an "off-line" AXTM recovery operation, usimg A@BD as an alternate recovery media, worked just fine.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2013
  9. Isso

    Isso Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,450
    Hi Cruise,

    You are right, I'll check it. In fact after looking into your ISO the problem is clear - the RST driver is just missing from it. So looks like by some reason AXTM doesn't detect it. I'll see if we can fix it soon.

    Isso
     
  10. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Frog,

    Am I to understand that you copied your AXTM program folder to the Active@BD and having done that you were able to perform a cold restore using the Active@BD? If so, I'm confused as to why you were able to do that in the absence of the AXTM driver (and running the AXTM app.)? :doubt:

    Cruise
     
  11. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Isso,

    I realize that 'you have a lot on your plate', so while I'm very anxious to test the last (important) aspect of AXTM which remains untested in my environment, I completely understand your limited resource situation.

    Keep up the good great work!

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2013
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    The issue "with WSA" reproduced again, but it seems not related to WSA, i shutdown WSA and AXTM still stuck again at 0%.

    Also lately my backup took long time, AXTM saying i had an improper shutdown so the backup will be longer than usual, what may cause this and how to set it back to normal (without reverting to a older snapshot)

    other topic:

    http://i.imgur.com/wcSUaQF.jpg


    In this screen, "Graphism 2" was an update made from "Graphism"; i cant delete "Graphism" directly because it had 2 children ("WSA + SSF" and "All Done" ), those 2 children must be deleted first, right?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2013
  13. John_Puma

    John_Puma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    US
    Hi Isso,

    Was testing merging and after several successful merging operations I merged the first backup into the most current (ending up with one large file) and the date of the resulting backup in AXTM Backup Browser is now says 113 years ago 5 months ago (see attached) - old date of first backup was 3 days or so and the date for the most current was like 14 minutes ago.

    Weird, wanted to check to see if everything else looked OK so opened the browser again and now it's looks correct at 1 hour 12 minutes ago. WTH
    Otherwise, looks OK.

    Oh well, something for you to check out. I'll try to repeat this tomorrow (too late now ;) ).

    Running 1.0.967 on Windows 7.

    John
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 5, 2013
  14. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    737
    AXTM was well ahead of its time... even 113 years ago. ;)
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,862
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :cool: You gotta luv (and bahh!!!) Micro (soft) stress O/S versions. Its gotta be a monumental undertaking by now for developers to balance fitting new product code into all these different versions, carefully accommodating for different service packs and updates etc. to adequately address complete functionality across the entire spectrum not to mention compatibility with other software and the like.
    Thanks guys for all the focused time and attention you continue to put into your efforts into testing this sure to be great product. I know Isso. is driving hard in developing it to it's full potential to be just what we expect from such a grand concept.
     
  16. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Hi Froggie and Isso,

    I was able to successfuly create a bootable Recovery Media for my XP machine using a Win7 system, however, the browser can‘t see the snapshot file for some reason. I‘m using a single 40GB HDD with 2 partitions:
    C: (Windows)
    D: (Downloads)

    The snapshot file is in D: but when I browse to the folder, there‘s nothing inside (apparently). If I boot to Windows as usual, the file is there but the Rescue Environment can't see it for some reason.
     
  17. mike_111

    mike_111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    It would be great if AX64 could display the date and time of the last successful backup when you hover over the AX64 icon in the notification area (Windows 7). Also personally I would prefer it if the hourly backup timer could show minutes:seconds instead of just seconds.
     
  18. defconnect

    defconnect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  19. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,363
    Yes, he does tend to unwind at times. :D

    Al
     
  20. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,363
    Yes, I also am noticing a lot of sporadic shutdown problems since installing AX64 and SD. I cannot put my finger on the problem at this time. My XP system always did clean shutdowns previously. It doesn't always happen, but when it does, it's always after the "Windows is shutting down..." logo disappears and before the shutdown is completed. After that, the only alternative I've found is to keep the power button pressed until the laptop turns off. Could be that the running services for whatever reason cannot always be properly stopped causing the hang to occur.

    Al
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Mornin' Cruise.

    The only time the AXTM driver is needed for a restore operation is when you're restoring it under the ACTIVE Windows that took the snapshots (the FAST or HOT snapshot restore). Without it, AXTM does a standard COLD image restoration (like what happens with its own RECOVERY MEDIA). It, of course, is much slower than the LIVE Windows snapshot because its a restore imaging operation rather than a snapshot rollback operation. The AXTM app is not needed for the restore, only the AXTMbrowser task (AXTMImageBrowser.exe), which can be started manually.

    The results are the same as a HOT snapshot rollback, albeit a bit slower... head to whichever snapshot you wish, especially with a dead (unBOOTable) system.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Atonomega... what are the Windows formats of both the "C" and "D" partitions (NTFS, FAT32, FAT, etc.)?
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    guest, this is normal for AXTM following and unexpected or HARD shutdown. The very next snapshot will take just a little less time than your original baseline but produce a normal snapshot size (difference from the last). This is required for AXTM to get back in "sync" as far as snapshots go. After that snapshot, all should be as it was before the unexpected shutdown and snap times should be back to normal.
     
  24. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Good morning Frog - thanks for the explanation (it makes sense). ;)

    Cruise
     
  25. John_Puma

    John_Puma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    US
    Hi again Isso,
    Well, I've tried to reproduce this by doing the exact same steps two more times and couldn't come up with the incorrect date again. So I guess that's a good thing - not a typical happening, just an occasional quirk. Oh well, add it to your "quirky" list.

    MarcP,

    Good one - you got a chuckle from me :) :) :)

    John
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.