Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    737
    I'm trying to have a minute of silence for the software, but I keep hearing this frog ~Comment removed~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2016
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Rats! I missed it!
     
  3. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    737
    Ha ha, moderator. Sounds of flatulence crosses the line. :)
     
  4. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    Alright, seems we have to work with what we got at this time...

    Everybody seems to agree that the latest version v1.4.1.48 was the most successful HOT restore version, but what about FlashBack V2 ? I tested the latest official build 703, I did not encounter problems, but speed was unimpressive. Now Peter plus some other folks suggested that the version just before that (I believe it was build 698 ) worked better.

    Could someone elaborate? What exactly worked better? And since this was a private beta without an official download link, could someone please upload this version and post the download URL here? Since the company has gone belly up I do not think that posting a download link to this version would be inappropriate.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Manolito

    698 was the best version, but it also wasn't reliable. I think the best thing is just say we wished and hoped and lost. Personally I'd move on. Also as note, that it is still their property, and I since we don't know the actual legal status, I would be careful about posting download links that aren't official
     
  6. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    Thanks Peter,

    Froggie already helped me out with build 698, will do some tests later.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  7. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    694
    Location:
    sweden
    Since all versions worked differently in different machines it is hard to say what was bad or good in general. For me version 698 was best and 701 was pretty buggy and 703, official release, was little better than 701. But 698 was the most functioning one for me on my machine.

    But, now, a long time after the release i am runing 703 again and this time it is working flawlessly. So far. I have used it longer this time then the time before - without problems. No file fault this time as was the big problem for me after a couple of restores.
     
  8. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I too am running 703 on Win 10 64 AU for quite a time & no probs yet.

    What do you mean by "File Fault" prob?
     
  9. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Hello... I have just confirmed that using Privazer to clean the C: drive and not rebooting afterwards will cause the next backup to fail. The main dashboard window will show 0 bytes in size and the next backup reverts to a 1st Full Backup. All previous backups are still visible and can be accessed but, apparently the chain has been broken. So I am wondering...

    1. Can the chain be repaired and then just delete the extra FULL backup?

    2. Due to the imminent demise of this software, does anyone know if Macrium Reflect might suffer similar inconsistencies? Have been using Time Machine v2.0.0.499 on Windows 7 Home Premium without any major issues except the one mentioned above. And that issue stems from Privazer and not this software.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Can you tell us what happens when you do reBOOT afterwards?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I've tried Privazer, even bought a license. In theory you should be able to let it do it's thing. Was a disaster for me. It is no longer resident for me.

    Froggie to help you answer your question it even goes as far as cleaning the MFT among other things.
     
  12. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    694
    Location:
    sweden
    Windows file fault, the Os behaved oddly. Had to run a sfc / scannow to repair the Os now and then after a couple of restores.
     
  13. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Once rebooted everything if OK. If one reboots right after cleanup, Windows takes a long time to shut down. Using Sysinternals "ProcessExplorer", there is a lot of activity going on in the area of System & DPC's which can last maybe 5 minutes or so. Don't know what this activity really is but, if Time Machine starts a backup during this time it will fail. Also, I like to use Piriform's Recuva after the cleanup to see if anything was left behind. During the interval mentioned, Recuva will give error message indicating that it cannot read the file system! Sounds ominous when first encountered but, after reboot all is OK. Maybe something to do with cleaning the MFT and/or free space. Once the System & DPC's activity is finished, Windows will shut down and reboot normally.
     
  14. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    1. The chain cannot be repaired if, indeed, it a FULL backup in the same chain. It probably can be eliminated via the DELETE (Merge) operation (if it's not the most recent Incremental) but the process will be brutal merging that new FULL forward and you'll still wind up with a large snapshot.

    2. Macrium Reflect currently uses 2-methods to track changes on the system for Incremental purposes. One is in production, Looking For Changes, and one is currently in BETA, Changed Block Tracking or CBT. CBT is a method very similar to AX64's Tracking File, although I'm sure the implementation method is not the same. I tested both methods of tracking against the 1st run of "Privazer" (the one that creates the most changes) and the results are as expected with my W7x64sp1 System. Both produced normal Incrementals of the size expected for a 1st run of "Privazer." Macrium appears to be unaffected by whatever "Privazer" does.

    Edit: I saw nothng compared to your observations during the reBOOT following a Privazer run... no extensive extra activity.
     
  15. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Thanks Froggie. Been postponing the change to Macrium. Hate when I'm forced to learn new software. As for the slow reboot after Privazer, I will ask in that thread here at Wilders.
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and so you know, I ran your test under v1 of Time Machine/Flashback and experienced no anomalies at all. The follow-on Incremental was as expected... not a FULL.

    You may have some machine (OS config?) issues...
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    After looking at the summary of what Privazer does, I don't see how it does anything that would adversely affect either on disk tracking (within the FileSystem) or FileSystem comparison functions... it should work just fine with Time Machine/FlashBack.

    Edit: pls be aware that this was done with an SSD as the volume that "Privazer" was modifying... it does many different things when it's tweaking a HDD.
     
  18. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Ok, got it.

    Time to time I check system with chkdsk & sfc /scannow & no probs yet.
     
  19. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Mine is HDD - WD 1TB partitioned into C: 400GB and E: 531GB. Drive D: is a second WD 1TB (931GB). This way I can keep videos, music and other large files out of the backup scheme. Backups are done to an external 1TB drive. The lengthy shutdown process only happens with Drive C: Chkdsk runs clean. Haven't done SFC in a while.
     
  20. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Hello... another question please. When I do make the transition to Macrium, I will likely uninstall Time Machine and be done with it. I have set up my machine to use the AX64 boot manager. Will this automagically revert back to the Windows default boot or do I have to do something extra myself to get rid of this. Not looking forward to rendering my system unbootable after the program is gone. Also, am I correct in thinking the tracking file is in the "System Volume Information" folder? Will this be deleted as well?
     
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    In the area of the Time Machine program where you created the BOOT Mgr, there should be an option to REMOVE it. Pls do this before uninstalling Time Machine... otherwise, it's tougher to get rid of.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    hi Joba66

    Yes the tracking file will be deleted when you uninstall.

    Pete
     
  23. jopa66

    jopa66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Windsor, ON Canada
    Thanx guys. Just wanted to check in with the experts and avoid any issues.
     
  24. timmy

    timmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    120
     
  25. Keith Weisshar

    Keith Weisshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Hazlet, NJ
    Why is the XeroWeight website suspended?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.