Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. timmy

    timmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    ok, sorry about that. Dev has not responded, possibly they don't like dogs.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,988
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Peter2150 is correct as @Isso said not to share links to the Beta Builds he will have to send you the link.

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    Hi guys.

    What's this "FB" program you talk about? *puppy*
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,361
    Location:
    UK
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    Oh, I didn't know about this.
    Thanks for the update. They'll have to change their website name and address.

    Is there a recent release reflecting this new name? I am a paid user even though I gave up using it ages ago.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,361
    Location:
    UK
    As seen in that article above a beta release has been made and can be obtained by contacting them via links in that article.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    OK. Thanks, stapp.
     
  8. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    Next build (an official release) was ready a few days back - we guess over this period driver signing by Microsoft takes a little longer than expected.

    Thanks for your patience and hope everyone had a fantastic NYE!

    Happy 2016 guys!

    Waj
     
  9. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    About long boot times, Iurie is working on the fix.

    Thanks!

    @Tim we have sent you a link :)

    @dagrev we have received your mails thanks!
     
  10. timmy

    timmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Program called "Faronics Deep Freeze." Does anyone know if this is compatible with the Flashback/Time Machine.
    A similar prog called Shadow Defender am told does not, but am hoping the Faronics Deep Freeze might be ok.
    This same question was asked about two years ago in these pages, but never got answer. Hoping maybe someone now knows and can advise?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Don't know about Deep Freeze, but Shadow Defender is a yes but. You can use shadow defender but what I have seen is every time you come out of shadow mode the tracking file is "broken" meaning both the next restore or incremental will be full length so FB can rebuild the tracking file.
     
  12. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    "Deep Freeze" is yet another mainstay in the LV (Lite Virtualization) arena, and as such, will allow FlashBack to suffer from the same anomalies as it does against other LV solutions... mainly the fracturing of its TrackingFile. As Peter says, FB can recover from this but produces a lengthy process on its next operation.

    Some LV solutions allow you to return certain files to the state they obtained during their sandbox session. This of course would be a big fail for the status of any TrackingFile system if you tried to include any changed files into the result of your LV session.
     
  13. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    It's a preference, but why would you need or want to use Deep Freeze when you can take a snapshot with FB, try a program, keep the snap and move or roll back if your don't? This can be applied to things other than trying software as well. Personally I see using something like that as redundant and unnecessary. At least the way I do it anyway. Deep freeze is nice but I stopped using it for the above reason.
     
  14. timmy

    timmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Thanks for replies re the deep freeze and shadow defender. From what you have said, will just stay with the Flasback and not use those. What I liked about the Shadow Def was its absolute certainly that nothing! would be done to the machine, on any drive (I have 4 of them), where with the Flashback there is always that little nagging feeling maybe it will crash or otherwise not fully work. Guess have just got to overcome that fear.
     
  15. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Its been so long since I had a problem with my V1 of AX64 that I cannot recall if this is correct or not,,,,,,,,,if a hot restore fails you can do a full cold restore to the same selected snap that failed with the hot restore. It would take time of course but if I am correct then the odd time that FB might fail to do a quick restore the PC would, at the end of the day, be fine.

    PS: has anyone had a full cold restore fail with the more recent versions of the program?
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I haven't had any failures with the recent beta's, but on the other hand I have done any brutal testing on it.

    On the Shadow Defender issue. One place where it fits that no imaging program does. If I am testing something that affects all disks then Shadow Defender protects all of them. To do it with imaging I'd have to image them and place all the images on external drives. Not easy
     
  17. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Kind of unrelated, but I'm wondering why some of my snapshots are large at times when there is no defraging or restore points being taken. Those will do it but they are not the problem. For example yesterday afternoon I took a snap and it was 540 Mb. This morning it was 1.9Gb. There was nothing installed, no updates applied and I have added nothing and not even changed Word or other docs. As a result I can't figure out what is changing to cause such data increases in the snaps. Are there any good programs that can tell which files are being changed or the like that would help?

    Any thoughts would be appreciated.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Do you have any automatic updates turned on for any software? Any auto defrag 's running in the background?
     
  19. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    One program gets updates but nothing that would amount to 1.9Gb. No, auto defrag is off. Occasionally it gets turned back on for some reason but I check it and it's been off for weeks.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi dagrev

    I just had a thought, but let me test it tomorrow to see. I'll get back

    Pete
     
  21. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Pete. I aprriciate your time, insight and any suggestions.
     
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The big issue I've noticed in the past is the Windows automatic FILE CONTENT indexing service (it's called "Windows Search" on W7... maybe anther name under W8 or W10). Windows, by DEFAULT, not only indexes the file listings themselves (for fast search access) but also the content of those files for search purposes as well.

    Since I really never use that functionality of Windows, I have the service turned off and DISABLED. In the past it has reduced daily FileSystem changes quite a bit... probably worth a try to see if any effect, you can always turn it back on <Automatic (Delayed)>
     
  23. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,888
    Disabling Windows Search service will cripple the search performance in applications such as Microsoft Outlook. Not a good idea IMHO.
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    Has this version been tried by anyone yet?
    If so. Is it working OK?
     
  25. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    452
    It also breaks File History. Rather than disable the service itself, I use the Indexing Options control panel to minimize what is indexed.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.