Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    This advice has all the potential to start a flame war...

    A lot of people (including me) would give the opposite advice: Keep your system and your data on separate partitions. Keep your system partition as small as possible. Organize your data - and separate partitions are a good way to do this.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    :p I would agree with both of you (how's that for a good political solution)...

    Mab is right concerning the System partition and the separation of DATA. Pete is right in eliminating the EFI partition (for UEFI BOOTing), the MicroSloth SRP, and any additioal OEM Recovery partitions (once you're properly imaging your system, why the heck is this partition needed anyway?).

    The most manageable System in the world is a Legacy-MBR system booting straight into the System (Windows) partition. Most users don't need 128-partition capability, and GPT (large volume) formatted disks are not mutually exclusive to either the MBR or UEFI BOOTing environments.

    The KISS principle works very well with both your suggestions...
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,026
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete,

    I suspect you have a MBR (Legacy) install. I have too. And TRF. But our days are numbered unless we do custom MBR installs on future computers. All OEM computers with Win8 and Win10 will have UEFI installs with at least 4 partitions on the drive and you can't get rid of the partitions. Unless you convert from GPT to MBR. For those who don't have a UEFI system, don't despair. It will be only marginally more difficult to manage than your current MBR system. Easier than you expect.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Well I don't separate data, but that works well for me, and might not work well for others. But getting rid of all those extra pesky OS partitions is no loss.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I know it's a bit off topic, but that is why I love buying from Velocity Micro. I can ask them to do a legacy MBR install and they will
     
  6. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    For me, separate data partition makes my (current) data (documents etc.) persists after a restore.
    (I don't use the automatic backup function of AX64, but I have another software automatically backup my data to another storage).

    ps
    I also hate the built-in multiple partition bestowed upon us. If they continue doing this, I think they have to revise how they advertise their system's HDD capacity, maybe something like: 1 TB HDD, of which 500 GB are currently being used for various necessary & essential functions. (yeah, right)
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Peter! I guess that is not possible on a UEFI system. Am I right?
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Aigle

    I am not sure. The way I did it was image the whole disk with Shadowprotect. It creates a separate file for each partition. Then on restore I selected the c: partition. At that point SP allows me to delete all the partitions which I did, leaving an unallocated unformat space. Then I tell it to recreate the partition using all the space. I think at some point it asked me if I wanted GPT or MBR, don't remember. I then restore and SP fixes all the boot stuff. Let me look later and see.
     
  9. cloggy49

    cloggy49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not sure if I can mention it here but EaseUS has a freeware utility to convert a GPT disk into an MBR disk without loosing data. You can also achieve it through the Command line (DiskPar) but then you have to backup your disk first. I have a look into the EaseUS solution tomorrow and maybe I'll give it a try (after making a full backup first... :))
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    There should be no reason to lose your data when you change a disk type from MBR to GPT and visaversa... lots of tools offer that finction (MiniTool Partition Wizard is what I have used in the past many times)
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    WARNING: If you're running a Legacy-MBR system and are not using a MicroSloth SYSTEM RECOVERY PARTITION, the Windows 10 1511 Update will definitely change the size of your ACTIVE Windows partition... this in turn may cause FlashBack to do funny things since the partition you're protecting has just changed in size.

    This is exactly what happened during the Windows 8.1 to Windows 8.1 Upgrade 1 update. Windows created a new 450mB System Reserved Partition by carving away enough storage to do this from the ACTIVE Windows partition. Havoc was cause for Rollback RX users as well as most imagers that "think" they know how large the partition they are protecting is.

    I just witnessed this... errr, anomaly and following the change, the 1st BOOT crashed informing me that the FlashBack special driver was not happy. The 2nd BOOT got passed that error, but knowing what just happened with my FlashBack protected System partition, I immediately uninstalled FlashBack and re-installed it, creating a brand new baseline elsewhere on my imaging storage volume.

    Be careful with this upgrade.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2015
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yep, saw that in the Win 10 VM. I

    @aigle
    I was successful, in taking my Win 10 drive, which had the c: partition the 450 mb partition and 500 unallocated space and changing it to one c: partition using all the disk space. Did it with Shadowprotect. Also my drive was an MBR drive but the option was there to convert to GPT.

    Pete
     
  13. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    <<<--- Crosses fingers, I'm currently installing it.. Downloaded the ISO image...
    Took a backup prior to running the update tho. :)
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    So far so good. I had one restore failure, not sure why, but sent in logs. It's slowly figuring out the best way to add it to the mix without the slowdowns caused by the tracking file. But this is the longest it has stayed on the system.
     
  15. waylo

    waylo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Posts:
    42
    Yes, I reported an error in their uninstall program a while ago. Many of the newer betas when it was TM had the same problem. Not sure where they are in fixing this!

    EDIT: As far as I know, there are no logs for the uninstall to submit!
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2015
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Thanks Peter!
     
  17. hoge hoge

    hoge hoge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Japan
    Hello there,

    When the drive that stores the snapshot data is full,
    TM v2.0 release news are written "deletes the oldest backups to make room for newer ones."
    https://ax64.com/versions/ax64-time-machine-new-features/

    But,
    In UserVoice It is written with additional plans to v3.
    https://ax64.uservoice.com/forums/206143-general/suggestions/8930230-ability-to-delete-snapshots

    Once I experiment because it seemed to contradict,
    FLASHBACK ( build 693 ) did NOT automatically delete the snapshot data in my environment (Windows 7 Home 32bit).

    Everyone the same ?
    I wonder if I should to contact developer...

    Best Regards,

    20151116.png
     
  18. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Dear Hoge,

    I've sent you a mail and replied to your inquiry. Thanks!

     
  19. hoge hoge

    hoge hoge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Japan
    Dear wajamus,

    I have received message.
    Thank you for e-mail.

    Best Regards,
     
  20. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
  21. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    No, it is older. The latest Beta is build 693

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  22. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    I thought it might be newer from the name change.
    Thanks.
     
  23. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    Thank you everyone for your continued feedback.

    Apologize for the delay in updates, we are working to get a new build out asap. Some set backs with developer on leave due to illness - but we should be back to full speed very soon.

    We understand a number of users have experienced uninstallation/install issues and this is on the priority list to fix.

    Next, we have been receiving a number of e-mails in the past week from a user using a fake e-mails address, something like "nobody@gmail.com". To this user, we are happy to support you, but you'll have to share your mail with us so we can reply and diagnose your issue(s).

    Also, we humbly request if this user cease sending offensive and personal attacks directed at members of our team. We understand it can be inconvenient if betas have issues and it may upset you. We're doing our level best to improve the product. However, please don't attack our team mates on a personal level.

    As always, if you have issues, please send through your reports to info@ax64.com along with your logs.

    To send logs go to:

    backup tools, about, collect logs.

    Regards,

    Waj
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  24. hoge hoge

    hoge hoge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Japan
    I know that the developers have a nice work.
    I will continue to cooperate as a beta tester!

    Best Regards,
     
  25. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the support Hogehoge

     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.