Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. timmy

    timmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    "Gone south" (your prev comment)
    "Too shot" (your curr comment)

    Could you be a bit more specific as to what were the difficulties.
     
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,576
    Location:
    USA
    Has anyone tried version 2 0 0 629? If so what do think?
     
  3. Geser

    Geser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Israel
    I am using. It's ok, but not tried to restore yet :)
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,576
    Location:
    USA
    Then how do you know it's "O.K."?
     
  5. Geser

    Geser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Israel
    No BSOD :)
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Until you do a restore, you have no clue if it's working. Sorry.
     
  7. Geser

    Geser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Israel
    Actually one successful restore is not a guarantee that any other will succeed also :)
    Latest version of Acronis not only failed to restore, but also prevented my machine from normal shutdown.
    So TM anyway better than Acronis :)
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    You are correct. Before I bought Macrium when I had the 30 day trial, I did 3 imagings and 3 restores a day. Then I bought it. In testing the new v6 before they released it, I bet I did about 100 restores.
     
  9. Geser

    Geser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Israel
    Lucky you, have a time for this :)
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I make the time. It's less time then discovering you need a reliable restore and don't have it.
     
  11. mxyzptlk

    mxyzptlk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Actually, beating Acronis isn't such a big achievement :isay:
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    At this point TM hasn't beaten anyone. But there indeed others I'd say beats acronis.
     
  13. MaxDeMe

    MaxDeMe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi
    I am currently testing a new version Beta 634. Several times I created an image and a few times restored. Everything works well.
    Win 8.1 Pro 64(bit)
    SSD (UEFI)

    :)
     
  14. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    363
    Does Time Machine v1 work ok with Windows 10 for now ?
     
  15. Seguro

    Seguro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Hi !

    Here my experience with WIN10

    I use AX64 since a long time, and my experience was very good until now .

    So I installed WIN10 as an update from WIN8.1

    Yesterday I made the first backup with AX64 2.0.0.528 without any problem.
    As I started with a new chain, the backup needed quite a lot of time as usual.

    After deleting some files, I made a second backup today.
    I was expecting now a short backup-time as usual ...

    What happened, was an endless backup. The same time was used at the beginning of the chain.
    The backup finished successful, no error message or anything else.

    My intention was to test a restore of the backup, but under these circumstances now I am afraid to do so.
    As I never experienced such a long backup-time in a non-new chain. I am afraid, that something went wrong wit AX64 on WIN10, and possibly I will loose my data with the restore-intent.
    Right now I don't trust in the result

    I am a coward :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2015
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    You can make Windows 10 built-in system image just in case.
     
  17. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    is it reliable?
    no idea,cause im on win 7.
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Hasn't failed me yet, especially after creating recovery media.
     
  19. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    Any one have a link for v1.4.1.48?
    Thanks
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Kit1cat, you can get it here from my DropBox if you'd like ("b" for BETA)...
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    You can also get it directly off the AX64 site. Just download the version for people with licenses for v1 and that is what you will get.
     
  22. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    Thanks Guy's
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Are they anywhere close to a public beta
     
  24. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Hi, strange story about Time Machine, latest stable V2 : I was performing a merge of some incremental snapshots then the application froze. It happens sometimes, I just kill the TMApp.exe task, reboot, try again and it usually works. This time I didn't reboot my Lenovo, tried again and was greeted a few seconds later by a BSOD (the Win8.1 version). The trouble is that my Lenovo wouldn't reboot, it started to display the Bios Lenovo logo, then reset and so on. I used some tools to discover that 5 of the 6 partitions on the drive had been wiped out, or damaged, including C:. I could have tried a partition recovery tool but I decided to restore the whole drive using Reflect V6. 4 hours later the Lenovo was up and running. I have decided to remove Time Machine this time, I have no evidence it is the the root of the extreme issue, the BSOD mentioned fvevol.sys or something like that.
     
  25. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,068
    I've read that fvevol.sys is the bitlocker security driver. If do an Internet search for it there are a few articles on problems with it and solutions.











     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.