Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    I am happy to report that for some unknown reason, after uninstalling/reinstalling TM (build 52:cool:, now it works with Instant Rescue being active. This is a great plus if both software can finally get together...
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Glad to hear it. Please keep us informed as they work together. :)
     
  3. matra

    matra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    when will be released the next version?
     
  4. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I am really interested in this program, so much so that I just downloaded the 30-trial to see if I can manage it. From what I understand, it backs up every hour, unless you turn automatic backup off. One thing that concerns me is somewhere in this forum, I saw a post indicating there might be a problem with having Macrium Reflect also installed. I have MR and Aoemi Backupper both installed - is this going to present problems? Also, does AX64 destroy my System Restore points made previously? Please bear with me, I'm just in a learning process and want to find out as much as I can to keep from messing everything up. Are any tutorials written yet for dummies like me? Appreciate any helpful info anyone can provide
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    John, I run Macrium as my GoTo imager at the moment... AX64 and Macrium work fine together. There hasn't been any chat about AOMEI on this forum so I sure can't answer that.

    AX64 and SystemRestore are totally independent of each other. If you decide to use AX64 as your primary snapshotting tool, there will be no use for SystemRestore... save the data and the cycles by turning it off AFTER you make your decision.
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I'm not sure about AOMEI but their have been issues with other imagers (Shadow Protect?) that use tracking files to manage their imaging status like AX64 does. Hopefully somebody will jump in here and chat a bit.

    ...and there are issues with Raxco's Perfect Disk BOOT TIME defrag function, not the normal defraging operations.
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    No issue with AOMEI Backupper 2.x on my system so far. I am using AXTM 2 build 528, not the beta 548
     
  8. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for all your responses. I really like AX64 so far. Fits right in for an over-cautious user like me. Really nice GUI. Will be purchasing soon, I'm sure. Still have 29 days on the trial...will continue playing around with it to get a good feel for it. Appreciate members of this Forum being so helpful. Thanks again. I am also using Build 528, MerleOne.
     
  9. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Torture. build 499. Win 7.
    • When I try to backup, blue screen. Multiple times.
    • When I reboot to restore, mouse won't work. Have to reboot a 2nd time to get the mouse back. Can restore.
    Have sent logs to AX64.
     
  10. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Did you try build 528 ?
     
  11. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Hmmm...I thought 528 was the beta. Now I see that 548 is the beta. Was 528 a release?
     
  12. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    I think so. You can check on the history or news page from ax64.com
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yep, the latest "ofishul" release.
     
  14. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Well...installed it. Still couldn't backup from the browser. Blue screen. Not happening with Macrium. Still having to reboot twice to get the boot mgr's AX64 recovery environment to have a functioning mouse.

    Troublesome to say the least.
     
  15. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Nathan in support asked me to uninstall then reinstall 528 again. Will do and report back to him and here.
     
  16. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    956
    Froggie, I thought you ran Image for Windows. I did not know that Macrium was better.
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    MSPAN, I've used IFW for many years without failure and still use it in certain circumstances. This past year I started using Macrium Reflect and I find it much easier to use at the user interface level than IFW as well as also being fault free. I can't recommend one over the other as far as safety is concerned (they have both been flawless for me), but I personally find Macrium to be easier to use and a bit faster when doing INCREMENTALS.

    I'm working my butt of to make AX64 my snapshot tool of choice but it's taking a bit of work and testing to try and pull this off... hopefully it'll get there.
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,778
    I uninstalled this program............. again.
     
  19. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Feeling you, brother!

    1. Uninstalled build 499.
    2. Installed build 528.
    3. Right after the installation required reboot, BLUE SCREEN.
    4. Rebooted. System seems okay. But decided to restore back to a month ago when I know the system was clean.
    5. Restored fine. But...had to uninstall build 499 again. Then reinstalled 528.
    5. Right after the installation required reboot, BLUE SCREEN.

    QUESTION 1:
    Guys, I'm really concerned that all these Blue Screens are muddling with the system. Do these crashes cause additional problems? Or are they just "single moment" symptoms of some incompatibility occurring with AX64 at that time? Meaning, is it best for me to recover back before the Blue Screens?

    QUESTION 2:
    Does this make sense or do you suggest a different course of action?

    A. Restore back to my relatively clean system date of October 30, using AX64.
    B. Uninstall build 499.
    C. Don't install build 528. Wait for a later update.
    D. Bring my system back up date (Windows Update, some software I had installed, etc.)
    E. Do a full Macrium backup as a new baseline so I don't have to go so far back in time.

    Or ?

    Thanks,
    Chamlin
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  20. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    956
    Thanks Froggie:

    Does Macrium have a setting where it will do a RESTORABLE image of a whole win 8.1 64 bit GPT SSD...all partitions?

    What I am looking for is a way to go back to a place where I can "Start Over".
     
  21. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I went ahead and purchased AX64 - one question tho, is there a foreign transaction fee involved in the purchase?
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Well I couldn't stay away. I just fired up a new Lenevo x240 laptop Win 7 x64. I decided I didn't want to use the disk space that RIR used and following what has been going on here, so with the new Hot Restore in the latest beta I decided to give it a try. Note, I chose to use it strictly for snapshot capability. Another words full image restores is the job of Macrium and just interim rollbacks the job of AX64 V2, so then it was off to test. Nothing fancy, just add a program, take an incremental and restore it. Also I did some back and forth in time, and also tested with with ShadowDefender. The test with SD was as follows. Take an incremental. Copy about 8 pictures to the desktop. Enter SD shadowmode and delete the pictures. Exit shadow mode, and of course the pictures are back. Then restore the incremental and pictures should be gone if restore worked.

    Did nothing but hot restores. Probably did 15 restores yesterday. Varying speeds but they all worked Well done Waj. You finally got my money.

    Have an idea of how I want to use it on another machine, but there is a critical test to try. That is for this weekend.
     
  23. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    USA--Colorado

    Which version are you using Peter? (I know it's version 2 but which one specifically?)
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    The one you can download from the site marked beta. I believe it's 548
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Did another test to confirm something.

    1. Added a bunch of pictures to the desktop.
    2. Went into Shadowdefender shadowmode and deleted the pictures.
    3. Exited shadowmode and as expected pictures back
    4. Restored(hot) with TM and again pictures back.
    5. Rebooted the system for the sake of it.
    6. Added back pictures
    7 Hot restore with TM and of course pictures gone.

    Both restores successful, but here is the interesting thing

    Time to restore after using SD 8 minutes 30 seconds.
    Time to restore without SD 1 minute 5 seconds.

    This confirmed what I thought from yesterdays test. You can use SD, but it slows down the restores by a huge amount.

    This leads me to the question. If the hot restore works this well what do I gain from using SD. Can't think of a reason.

    Pete
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.